For the 4th-Grader Who Likes Fantasy, Adventure, and Friendships

Recommendations from Katie

Lalani of the Distant Sea Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062747280
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 15th, 2020

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”—Kirkus (starred review)

“A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”—Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me


Sweep: The Story of a Girl and Her Monster Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781419737022
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Amulet Paperbacks - May 5th, 2020

A 2019 Sydney Taylor Book Award Winner!

It's been five years since the Sweep disappeared. Orphaned and alone, Nan Sparrow had no other choice but to work for a ruthless chimney sweep named Wilkie Crudd. She spends her days sweeping out chimneys.


Malamander (The Legends of Eerie-on-Sea) Cover Image
By Thomas Taylor, Tom Booth (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781536215151
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Walker Books US - April 14th, 2020

“Fans of Lemony Snicket or Pseudonymous Bosch will find their next adventure here.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)
 


Staff Pick Badge
Other Words for Home Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062747808
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 28th, 2019

New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book!

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.


The Parker Inheritance (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545952781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - June 25th, 2019

A Boston Globe / Horn Book Honor winner * Four Starred Reviews * Over Ten Best-of-Year Lists"Powerful....


Echo Mountain Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525555568
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2020

★ “Historical fiction at its finest.” –The Horn Book

“T
here has never been a better time to read about healing, of both the body and the heart. –The New York Times Book Review

Echo Mountain is an acclaimed best book of 2020! 


The Shadow Thieves (The Cronus Chronicles #1) Cover Image
By Anne Ursu, Eric Fortune (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781416905882
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 24th, 2007

Something extraordinary is about to happen to Charlotte Mielswetzski.

It's not the very cute kitten that appears out of nowhere. It's not the arrival of her cousin Zee, who believes he's the cause of a mysterious sickness that has struck his friends back in England. And it's not the white-faced, yellow-eyed men in tuxedos who follow Charlotte everywhere.


The School for Good and Evil Cover Image
By Soman Chainani, Iacopo Bruno (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780062104908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: HarperCollins - September 4th, 2018

THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL will soon be a major motion picture from Netflix—starring Academy Award winner Charlize Theron, Kerry Washington, Laurence Fishburne, Michelle Yeoh, Sofia Wylie, Sophie Anne Caruso, Jamie Flatters, Earl Cave, Kit Young, and more!