For the 4th-Grader Who Likes Fantasy, Adventure, and Friendships

Recommendations from Katie

Lalani of the Distant Sea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062747273
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 3rd, 2019

“Fast-paced and full of wonder, this is a powerful, gripping must-read.”—Kirkus (starred review)

“A lush and mysterious fable, full of beauty, full of wonder.”—Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal–winning author of When You Reach Me


Sweep: The Story of a Girl and Her Monster Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419731402
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Harry N. Abrams - September 25th, 2018

Malamander (The Legends of Eerie-on-Sea) Cover Image
By Thomas Taylor, Tom Booth (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536207224
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Walker Books US - September 10th, 2019

A quirky, creepy fantasy set in Eerie-on-Sea finds a colorful cast of characters in hot pursuit of a sea monster thought to convey a surprising gift.


Staff Pick Badge
Other Words for Home Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062747808
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 28th, 2019

New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book!

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.


The Parker Inheritance (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545952781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - June 25th, 2019

A Coretta Scott King Author Honor and Boston Globe / Horn Book Honor winner!

"Powerful.... Johnson writes about the long shadows of the past with such ambition that any reader with a taste for mystery will appreciate the puzzle Candice and Brandon must solve." -- The New York Times Book Review


Echo Mountain Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525555568
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2020

Soothing and exquisitely written.” –People

Surely there has never been a better time to read about healing, of both the body and the heart.The New York Times Book Review


The Shadow Thieves (The Cronus Chronicles #1) Cover Image
By Anne Ursu, Eric Fortune (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781416905882
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 24th, 2007

Something extraordinary is about to happen to Charlotte Mielswetzski.

It's not the very cute kitten that appears out of nowhere. It's not the arrival of her cousin Zee, who believes he's the cause of a mysterious sickness that has struck his friends back in England. And it's not the white-faced, yellow-eyed men in tuxedos who follow Charlotte everywhere.


The School for Good and Evil Cover Image
By Soman Chainani, Iacopo Bruno (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780062104908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: HarperCollins - September 4th, 2018

Soon to be a major motion picture from Netflix!

The New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil series is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one. Start here to follow Sophie, Agatha, and everyone at school from the beginning!