Young Adult Books by Asian American and Pacific Islander Authors

Tokyo Ever After: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Flatiron Books - May 18th, 2021

The New York Times bestseller and Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine YA Book Club Pick! Emiko Jean’s Tokyo Ever After is the “refreshing, spot-on” (Booklist, starred review) story of an ordinary Japanese-American girl who discovers that her father is the Crown Prince of Japan.


A Pho Love Story Cover Image
By Loan Le
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534441934
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - February 9th, 2021

“Will leave readers swooning.” —PopSugar

When Dimple Met Rishi meets Ugly Delicious in this funny, smart romantic comedy, in which two Vietnamese American teens fall in love and must navigate their newfound relationship amid their families’ age-old feud about their competing, neighboring restaurants.

If


Super Fake Love Song Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984812230
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - November 17th, 2020

An NPR Book Concierge Pick of the Year

“The fun of this engrossing read is that underneath the slapstick lies a finely nuanced meditation on how we perform as ourselves.” —New York Times Book Review
 


The Astonishing Color of After Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316464017
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 19th, 2019

A Time Magazine 100 Best YA Books of All Time Selection

A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng.


Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird.

Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her


This Time Will Be Different Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062473455
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: HarperTeen - June 9th, 2020

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book * A 2020 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection

For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon, critically acclaimed author Misa Sugiura delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about family, community, and the importance of writing your own history.


Jaya and Rasa. a Love Story Cover Image
$11.95
ISBN: 9781941026878
Availability: Special Order
Published: Cinco Puntos Press - September 19th, 2017

Recommended Fiction Book List for the 2019 In the Margins Book Award


Frankly in Love Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781984812223
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Penguin Books - September 1st, 2020

An Instant New York Times Bestseller and #1 Indie Bestseller!

A William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist

 
An Asian Pacific American Librarians Association Honor Book

Two friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go wrong?


Butterfly Yellow Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062229229
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: HarperCollins - October 13th, 2020

Winner of the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction! Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sánchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. 4 starred reviews!


American Born Chinese Cover Image
By Gene Luen Yang, Gene Luen Yang (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250811899
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: First Second - February 23rd, 2021

Gene Luen Yang was the fifth the National Ambassador for Young People's Literature and is a MacArthur Fellow, a recipient of what's popularly known as the MacArthur "Genius" Grant.


The Best We Could Do: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Thi Bui
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419718786
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Harry N. Abrams - April 17th, 2018

Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781616959890
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Teen - April 7th, 2020

Discover New York Times bestseller Samira Ahmed’s romantic, sweeping adventure through the streets of Paris told in alternating narratives that bridge centuries, continents, and the lives of two young Muslim women fighting to write their own stories.
 
Smash the patriarchy. Eat all the pastries.


Sixteen extraordinary authors—including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Renée Ahdieh, and Julie Kagawa—reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.


When Dimple Met Rishi Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781481478694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 22nd, 2018

The inspiration for the Netflix original series Mismatched!
A New York Times bestseller
A Time Best YA Book of All Time (2021)
An NPR Best Book of 2017
A BuzzFeed Best YA Book of 2017
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of 2017
A School Library Journal Best Young Adult Book of 2017


We Are Not Free Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358131434
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Clarion Books - September 1st, 2020

* NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST * PRINTZ HONOR BOOK * WALTER HONOR BOOK *

From New York Times best-selling and acclaimed author Traci Chee comes We Are Not Free, the collective account of a tight-knit group of young Nisei, second-generation Japanese American citizens, whose lives are irrevocably changed by the mass U.S.


Staff Pick Badge
The Magic Fish: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984851598
Availability: Backordered
Published: Random House Graphic - October 13th, 2020

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR by the New York Public Library • Kirkus Reviews • Booklist • Publishers Weekly


Yolk Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534446007
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 2nd, 2021

“Sneaks up on you with its insight and poignancy.” —Entertainment WeeklyFrom

New York Times bestselling author Mary H.K. Choi comes a funny and emotional story about two estranged sisters and how far they’ll go to save one of their lives—even if it means swapping identities.

Jayne and June Baek are nothing alike.


This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250192394
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Teen - March 9th, 2021

Winner of the American Library Association's Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

For readers of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us is a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals—a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl—as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war.


Saints and Misfits Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781481499255
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for You - June 12th, 2018

Saints and Misfits—a William C. Morris Award finalist and an Entertainment Weekly Best YA Book of the Year—is a “timely and authentic” (School Library Journal, starred review) debut novel that feels like a modern day My So-Called Life…starring a Muslim teen.

There are three kinds of people in my world:

1.


Darius the Great Is Not Okay Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525552970
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Penguin Books - August 20th, 2019

Darius doesn't think he'll ever be enough, in America or in Iran. Hilarious and heartbreaking, this unforgettable debut introduces a brilliant new voice in contemporary YA.

Winner of the William C. Morris Debut Award


“Heartfelt, tender, and so utterly real. I’d live in this book forever if I could.”


A Taste for Love Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593117521
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Razorbill - February 2nd, 2021

For fans of Jenny Han, Jane Austen, and The Great British Baking Show, A Taste for Love, is a delicious rom com about first love, familial expectations, and making the perfect bao.


American Betiya Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984897152
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - March 9th, 2021

A luminous story of a young artist grappling with first love, family boundaries and the complications of a cross-cultural relationship. Perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, Erika Sanchez and Jandy Nelson.


Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781524717827
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Ember - March 26th, 2019

In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios!


The Forest of Stolen Girls Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250229588
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Feiwel & Friends - April 20th, 2021

Suspenseful and richly atmospheric, June Hur's The Forest of Stolen Girls is a haunting historical mystery sure to keep readers guessing until the last page.

1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the same since she and her younger sister went missing and were later found unconscious in the forest near a gruesome crime scene.


To All the Boys I've Loved Before Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781442426719
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - January 26th, 2016

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is now a major motion picture streaming on Netflix!
A Time Best YA Book of All Time (2021)

Lara Jean’s love life gets complicated in this New York Times bestselling “lovely, lighthearted romance” (School Library Journal) from the bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series


When We Were Infinite Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534468214
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 9th, 2021

From award-winning author Kelly Loy Gilbert comes a “beautifully, achingly cathartic” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) romantic drama about the secrets we keep, from each other and from ourselves, perfect for fans of Permanent Record and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter.

All Beth wants is for her tight-knit circle of friends—Grace Nakamura