Maude Hart Lovelace Award: 2020/2021 Nominees

2021 MHL Division I Nominees (grades 3-5):

2021 MHL Division II Nominees (grades 6-8):


 

Because of the Rabbit (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545914260
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Scholastic Inc. - March 2nd, 2021

Newbery Honor-winning author Cynthia Lord has written a sensitive and accessible book about the challenges of fitting in when you know you're a little different.

On the last night of summer, Emma tags along with her game warden father on a routine call. They're supposed to rescue a wild rabbit from a picket fence, but instead they find a little bunny.


Bob Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250308696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Square Fish - May 7th, 2019

Wendy Mass and Rebecca Stead, two masterminds of classic, middle-grade fiction come together to craft this magical story about the enduring power of friendship.

It’s been five years since Livy and her family have visited Livy’s grandmother in Australia. Now that she’s back, Livy has the feeling she’s forgotten something really, really important about Gran’s house.


Front Desk (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338157826
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - June 25th, 2019

Four starred reviews and over ten best-of-year lists!* "Many readers will recognize themselves or their neighbors in these pages." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Winner of the Asian / Pacific American Award for Children's Literature!* "Many readers will recognize themselves or their neighbors in these pages." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred reviewMia Tang has a lot of secre


Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus: Volume 1 Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9781454932994
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Union Square Kids - March 5th, 2019

"Aven is a perky, hilarious, and inspiring protagonist whose attitude and humor will linger even after the last page has turned." --School Library Journal (Starred review)


Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781772780178
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Pajama Press - May 15th, 2017

Winner of the 2018 ALA Schneider Family Book Award, Middle Grade Books category


Mustaches for Maddie Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781629724195
Availability: Backordered
Published: Shadow Mountain - August 7th, 2018

A funny, inspiring story about when life's raindrops fall. Based on a true story.


New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Quill Tree Books - February 5th, 2019

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature! 


Restart Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781338053807
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Scholastic Press - March 27th, 2018

The amazing New York Times bestseller about what you can do when life gives you a second chance.

Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember falling off the roof. He doesn't remember hitting his head. He doesn't, in fact, remember anything. He wakes up in a hospital room and suddenly has to learn his whole life all over again . . .


Sled Dog School Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780358004561
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Clarion Books - January 22nd, 2019

Eleven-year-old Matt is struggling in school and he has to set up his own business to save his failing math grade. But what is he even good at? The only thing he truly loves is his team of dogs, and so Matt’s Sled Dog School is born. Teaching dogsledding should be easy, right? 

But people, just like dogs, can be unpredictable.


Wishtree Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250043221
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 26th, 2017

An oak tree and a crow help their neighbors embrace their differences in this beautiful, nuanced, New York Times-bestselling middle-grade novel from Newbery Medalist author Katherine Applegate.

Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .


Staff Pick Badge
The Bridge Home Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781524738136
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - April 14th, 2020

"Readers will be captivated by this beautifully written novel about young people who must use their instincts and grit to survive. Padma infuses her story with hope and bravery that will inspire readers."--Aisha Saeed, author of the New York Times Bestseller Amal Unbound


Float Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062803788
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: HarperCollins - July 23rd, 2019

From the critically acclaimed author of the Edge of Extinction series comes this fast-paced, action-packed, and heartfelt adventure about a group of kids with uncontrollable abilities, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman, Lisa McMann, and Dan Gutman!

Emerson can float…he just can’t do it very well.


Posted Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062338211
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Walden Pond Press - May 1st, 2018

With multiple starred reviews, don't miss this humorous, poignant, and original contemporary story about bullying, broken friendships, social media, and the failures of communication between kids. From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms. Bixby’s Last Day.


Resistance (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781338148503
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Scholastic Inc. - March 2nd, 2021

New York Times bestseller Jennifer A. Nielsen tells the extraordinary story of a Jewish girl's courageous efforts to resist the Nazis.

Chaya Lindner is a teenager living in Nazi-occupied Poland. Simply being Jewish places her in danger of being killed or sent to the camps.


Spirit Hunters Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062430090
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - June 26th, 2018

“Oh has crafted a truly chilling middle grade horror novel that will grab readers’ imaginations.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)


The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062491459
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 7th, 2020

From the critically acclaimed author of Waiting for Normal and All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook, Leslie Connor, comes a deeply poignant and beautifully crafted story about self-reliance, redemption, and hope.