September is National Mushroom Month

So here's a list of some of our favorite books that either feature mushrooms or just have pretty pictures of them!

Where is Everyone? By Tom Schamp Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9783791374505
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Prestel Junior - September 21st, 2021

Discover how this celebrated illustrator turns everyday objects inside out in marvelously zany ways in his latest lift-the-flap board book.


Mushroom Lullaby By Kenneth Kraegel, Kenneth Kraegel (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kenneth Kraegel, Kenneth Kraegel (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536219418
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Candlewick - October 11th, 2022

From the creator of Wild Honey from the Moon comes a fanciful lullaby as cozy and unique as a mushroom home.

Here is your mushroom at the end of the day.
The sun stretches out and sets far away.


Staff Pick Badge
Little Witch Hazel: A Year in the Forest By Phoebe Wahl Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780735264892
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Tundra Books - September 21st, 2021

An earthy and beautiful collection of four stories that celebrate the seasons, nature, and life, from award-winning author-illustrator Phoebe Wahl.

Little Witch Hazel is a tiny witch who lives in the forest, helping creatures big and small. She's a midwife, an intrepid explorer, a hard worker and a kind friend.


Staff Pick Badge
Gustav Is Missing!: A Tale of Friendship and Bravery By Andrea Zuill Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593487471
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Random House Studio - April 11th, 2023

From the author of Sweety comes a heartwarming story of friendship and bravery, featuring a little mushroom who sets off into the scary world to find his missing pet slug.


Staff Pick Badge
The Hidden World of Gnomes By Lauren Soloy Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780735271043
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Tundra Books - June 20th, 2023

A delightful introduction and collection of facts about the secret lives of gnomes that will charm and fascinate readers of all ages.

This book is an introduction to the hidden folk called gnomes, who live in a happy place they call The Pocket. Where is The Pocket, you ask?

Well, it’s all around you, all the time.


Staff Pick Badge
Mushroom Rain By Laura K. Zimmermann, Jamie Green (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Laura K. Zimmermann, Jamie Green (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534111509
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Sleeping Bear Press - March 15th, 2022

What can smell like bubble gum, glow neon green at night, be poisonous and yet still eaten by humans, and even help create rain? The answer is mushrooms From their hidden networks underground to the fruiting body above, mushrooms can do incredible things. But don't call them plants--mushrooms are fungi.


Tales of the Mushroom Folk By Signe Aspelin, Polly Lawson (Translator) Cover Image
By Signe Aspelin, Polly Lawson (Translator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781782507529
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Floris Books - September 7th, 2021

Beautiful new edition of this charming nature story for fans of Elsa Beskow and Sibylle von Olfers.


The Mushroom Man: 30th Anniversary Edition By Ethel Pochocki, Barry Moser (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ethel Pochocki, Barry Moser (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781958394311
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Tilbury House Publishers - September 5th, 2023

The thirtieth-anniversary edition of a beloved children’s book.


Katya's Book of Mushrooms: Fungi, Fauna, Facts & Folklore By Katya Arnold, Sam Swope Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250893567
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Square Fish - July 11th, 2023

Mushrooms are mysterious. They surround us, quietly, secretly, all the time. They appear overnight—like magic—in meadows, in forests. They’re exciting to find, beautiful to look at, fascinating to identify, and delicious to eat. When you know what to look for, a mushroom hunt is as safe and fun as a treasure hunt.


The Mushroom Fan Club By Elise Gravel Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781770463226
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - May 8th, 2018

Appeared on Best of 2018 lists from Quill & Quire and the Globe and Mail!

“Although the fungi are anthropomorphized with cartoon eyes and goofy grins, the research behind the book is real.”—The Globe & Mail 100 Best Books of 2018

“Gravel turns adventures in mushroom hunting into scintillating reading material.”—Quill & Quire Best Kids’ Books of 2018


Bean The Stretchy Dragon: A Sally & Bean Adventure By Ari Stocrate Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781524881016
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - September 19th, 2023

Meet Bean—a stretchy, cheerful dragon who lives with a grumpy witch named Sally.


The Little Frog's Guide to Self-Care: Affirmations, Self-Love and Life Lessons According to the Internet's Beloved Mushroom Frog By Maybell Eequay Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781837991013
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Summersdale - September 5th, 2023

Globally loved, the little frog is the creation of Maybell Eequay and appears in this charming book of uplifting affirmations and empowering life lessons

Hop into this uplifting little book, filled with positive affirmations on self-love and empowerment, as told by the internet’s most fashionable frog

“Don't forget about the subtle magic that is happening all arou


Fruiting Bodies: Stories By Kathryn Harlan Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781324021223
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 7th, 2022

Finalist for the 2023 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction
One of Vulture's Best Books of the Year

This genre-bending debut collection of stories constructs eight eerie worlds full of desire, wisdom, and magic blooming amidst decay.


Little Guides to Nature: Hello Fungi: A Little Guide to Nature By Nina Chakrabarti Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781510230460
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Laurence King Publishing - September 19th, 2023

Get outside and explore the fascinating world of fungi with this beautifully illustrated pocket guide for children.

Did you know that fungi are not quite plant, not quite animal, and not quite bacteria, but a unique organism in a kingdom all of their own?


Outdoor School: Tree, Wildflower, and Mushroom Spotting: The Definitive Interactive Nature Guide By Mary Kay Carson, John D. Dawson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Mary Kay Carson, John D. Dawson (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250750617
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Odd Dot - February 28th, 2023

With 448 full-color, highly-illustrated pages, Outdoor School is your indispensable tool for the outdoors.

This interactive field guide to plant and mushroom spotting includes:
- Immersive activities to get you exploring
- Write-in sections to journal about experiences
- Next-level adventures to challenge even seasoned nature lovers.


Funky Fungi: 30 Activities for Exploring Molds, Mushrooms, Lichens, and More (Young Naturalists #8) By Alisha Gabriel, Sue Heavenrich Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781641605779
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Chicago Review Press - July 12th, 2022

2023 AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize for Excellence in Science Books Hands-On Science Book winner

Fungi are everywhere!


They live in the coldest corner of Antarctica and on hot, sandy desert dunes. They’re in the air you breathe and the food you eat.