YA Discussion Group

Are you a young adult who likes books? Let's talk!

The YA Discussion Group is a virtual book club for young adult readers. We read a different book every month and discuss it alongside whatever else we've been reading, watching, and thinking about. This is the world's lowest-pressure book club—don't like the book? Don't finish it! Ran out of time? It's that kind of year. Rather tell us about the 20-volume fantasy epic that's been consuming your every waking moment? We want to hear about it!

At our next meeting on Sunday, April 25 at 5:30PM, we'll discuss We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia!

Happy reading; we can't wait to see you there!


Sunday, April 25 at 5:30PM:

**Mention that you're a YADG member in the order comments at checkout to get 20% off of this month's book!**

To join the YA Discussion Group and get a zoom link for our next meeting, please contact Linda at linda@wildrumpusbooks.com.

Please note: Book club meetings take place on Zoom.

 


Date: 
Sunday, 25 April 2021 - 5:30pm
Books: 
We Set the Dark on Fire Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062691323
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 14th, 2020

We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers.” —NPR

“Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality.” —Buzzfeed

Five starred reviews!!

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband’s household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school’s top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn’t prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she’s strived for in pursuit of a free Medio—and a chance at a forbidden love?


Event Address: 
Virtual Meeting
Email linda@wildrumpusbooks.com to join.
Minneapolis, MN 55410
United States