Activism Books to Inspire Middle Grade Kids

Let The Children March Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544704527
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Clarion Books - January 2nd, 2018

This powerful picture book introduces young readers to a key event in the struggle for Civil Rights. Winner, Coretta Scott King Honor Award.


Justice Makes a Difference: The Story of Miss Freedom Fighter Esquire Cover Image
$9.95
ISBN: 9780998555300
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Planting People Growing Justice Press - April 2nd, 2018

Greta's Story: The Schoolgirl Who Went on Strike to Save the Planet Cover Image
By Valentina Camerini, Moreno Giovannoni (Translated by), Veronica Carratello (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781534468788
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - April 6th, 2021

The inspiring true story of a Greta Thunberg, a young eco-activist whose persistence sparked a global movement.

You are never too young to make a difference.

Ever since she learned about climate change, Greta Thunberg couldn’t understand why politicians weren’t treating it as an emergency.


Hector: A Boy, A Protest, and the Photograph that Changed Apartheid Cover Image
By Adrienne Wright, Adrienne Wright (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781624146916
Availability: Unavailable to Order
Published: Page Street Kids - June 4th, 2019

A Junior Library Guild Selection!


Our Future: How Kids Are Taking Action (Kids Making a Difference) Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781772601039
Availability: Unavailable to Order
Published: Second Story Press - September 10th, 2019

Young people from across the globe are raising awareness about what issues matter to them most and are working to protect the future that we all share. American Jaelun Parkerson kneels with his football teammates during the national anthem to protest racial injustice.


Start Now!: You Can Make a Difference Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525514381
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Puffin Books - January 14th, 2020

For the youngest activists among us, a book geared just for them full of facts, stories, and tips on how to change the world, from #1 New York Times bestselling author Chelsea Clinton.

What can I do to help save endangered animals? How can I eat healthy? Why do I need to cover my mouth when I cough? What do I do if I'm being bullied?


Book Uncle and Me Cover Image
By Uma Krishnaswami, Julianna Swaney (Illustrator)
$8.95
ISBN: 9781554988099
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Groundwood Books - August 7th, 2018

Every day, nine-year-old Yasmin borrows a book from Book Uncle, a retired teacher who has set up a free lending library on the street corner. But when the mayor tries to shut down the rickety bookstand, Yasmin has to take her nose out of her book and do something.

What can she do? The local elections are coming up, but she's just a kid. She can't even vote


Something to Say Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062836724
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 4th, 2021

From the author of A Good Kind of Trouble, a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book, comes another unforgettable story about finding your voice—and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds.


Front Desk (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338157826
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - June 25th, 2019

Four starred reviews and over ten best-of-year lists!* "Many readers will recognize themselves or their neighbors in these pages." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Winner of the Asian / Pacific American Award for Children's Literature!* "Many readers will recognize themselves or their neighbors in these pages." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred reviewMia Tang has a lot of secre


Same Sun Here Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780763664510
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Candlewick - August 6th, 2013

“Even better than reading a refreshingly honest story by one talented writer is reading one by two such writers.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)


Ban This Book: A Novel Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780765385581
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Starscape - May 1st, 2018

You’re Never Too Young to Fight Censorship!


A Good Kind of Trouble Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062836694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 16th, 2020

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.


One Crazy Summer Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780060760908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Quill Tree Books - December 27th, 2011

In this Newbery Honor novel, New York Times bestselling author Rita Williams-Garcia tells the story of three sisters who travel to Oakland, California, in 1968 to meet the mother who abandoned them. A strong option for summer reading—take this book along on a family road trip or enjoy it at home.


Dress Coded Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984816436
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - July 7th, 2020

In this debut middle-grade girl-power friendship story, perfect for fans of Moxie, an eighth grader starts a podcast to protest the unfair dress code enforcement at her middle school and sparks a rebellion.
 

Molly Frost is FED UP...

Because Olivia was yelled at for wearing a tank top.


Rise Up! The Art of Protest Cover Image
By Jo Rippon, Mari Copeny (Foreword by)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781623541507
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Charlesbridge - March 3rd, 2020

Celebrate the right to resist!


We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices Cover Image
By Wade Hudson (Editor), Cheryl Willis Hudson (Editor)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525580454
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Yearling - December 31st, 2019

Fifty of the foremost diverse children's authors and illustrators--including Jason Reynolds, Jacqueline Woodson, and Kwame Alexander--share answers to the question, "In this divisive world, what shall we tell our children?" in this beautiful, full-color keepsake collection, published in partnership with Just Us Books.


This Promise of Change: One Girl’s Story in the Fight for School Equality Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681198521
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - January 8th, 2019

Recipient of a Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Honor
Winner of the 2019 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Nonfiction
2020 National Council for the Social Studies Carter G. Woodson Honor Recipient
A NYPL Top Ten of 2019

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year


No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9780143133568
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Penguin Books - November 12th, 2019

The #1 New York Times bestseller by Time's 2019 Person of the Year

"Greta Thunberg is already one of our planet’s greatest advocates." —Barack Obama

The groundbreaking speeches of Greta Thunberg, the young climate activist who has become the voice of a generation, including her historic address to the United Nations 


Resist: 40 Profiles of Ordinary People Who Rose Up Against Tyranny and Injustice Cover Image
By Veronica Chambers, Paul Ryding (Illustrator), Cory Booker (Foreword by)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062796264
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: HarperCollins - August 18th, 2020

A perfect tool for young readers as they grow into the leaders of tomorrow, Veronica Chambers’s inspiring collection of profiles—along with Senator Cory Booker’s stirring foreword—will inspire readers of all ages to stand up for what’s right.

You may only be one person, but you have the power to change the world.


Marley Dias Gets It Done: And So Can You! Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338136890
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Scholastic Press - January 30th, 2018

Marley Dias, the powerhouse girl-wonder who started the #1000blackgirlbooks campaign, speaks to kids about her passion for making our world a better place, and how to make their dreams come true!

Marley Dias, the powerhouse girl-wonder who started the #1000blackgirlbooks campaign, speaks to kids about her passion for making our world a better place, and how to make their dreams come tr


The Campaign Cover Image
By Leila Sales, Kim Balacuit (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781419739743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Harry N. Abrams - September 29th, 2020

Veep meets Parks and Recreation in this hilarious illustrated middle-grade political comedy about a 12-year-old who runs her babysitter’s campaign for mayor

For 12-year-old Maddie Polansky, the only good part of school is art class.