Virtual Event with Annie Barrows

Saturday, October 17, 1PM

Image Description: A portrait of author Annie Barrows, smiling with her chin resting on her right handWowee, are you in for a treat! Join us for a live virtual event with one of the funniest authors on the planet, Annie Barrows. Annie will tell us about her mischievous pal Iggy and her newest book, Iggy is Better Than Ever (out 10/6).

We'll laugh, we'll ask questions, we'll get answers to those questions, we'll laugh some more, and we'll hear Annie read a bit. Trust us, you're going to love it.

This event will take place on Zoom Webinar. Click HERE on 10/17 at 1PM Central to join (or copy and paste the Zoom Webinar URL at the bottom of this page into your browser).

About Annie Barrows:

Annie Barrows doesn't want to ruin this book by telling you what happens in it. But she really, really wants to say that the thing in this book you will find the most unbelievable--it involves something green--that thing is TRUE! It actually happened to a guy she knows at the gym. And guess what. He still has it, the green thing, in a scrapbook. How disgusting!

Questions? Email Drew at drew@wildrumpusbooks.com.


 

Date: 
Saturday, 17 October 2020 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Books: 
Iggy Is Better Than Ever Cover Image
By Annie Barrows, Sam Ricks (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984813336
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - October 6th, 2020


The second book in the Iggy series about the lovable troublemaker by New York Times bestselling author Annie Barrows (Ivy + Bean).

One thing led to another . . .

Have you ever heard those words? Sometimes it means "Things got better." That's not what it means in this book. In this book, Iggy gets an idea--a perfectly fine idea--and then, unfortunately, the principal shows up, and then, even more unfortunately, there's an incident with a basketball, and then, before you know it, Iggy's flying through the air.

How did it all happen? It's really hard to explain. You'd better read the book.

In the second book in Annie Barrows's series about how causing a little bit of trouble can sometimes be a whole lot of fun, Iggy almost realizes that the consequences of his actions can affect others. Almost.


The Best of Iggy Cover Image
By Annie Barrows, Sam Ricks (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984813305
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020


Meet 9-year-old Iggy Frangi. He's not a bad kid, he's really not. Okay, so he's done a few (a few is anything up to 100) bad things. And okay, he's not very sorry about most of them. People make a big deal about nothing. What's a little pancake here and there? Is that something to get mad about? Iggy doesn't think so. No one got hurt, so there's no problem. No one got hurt except for that one time, that one time when the Best Idea Ever turned into the Worst Idea of All Time.

Iggy is sorry he did it. He is really, really, really sorry.


"For what?" you might ask. "What did he do?"

Well, you'll have to read the book to find out.

Things Iggy will NOT do in this book:
Be the most polite kid ever.
Play the cello.
Think before acting.
Learn a lesson.
Regret his actions. (Most of them, anyway.)


Ivy & Bean – Book 1 (Ivy and Bean Books, Books for Elementary School) Cover Image
By Annie Barrows, Sophie Blackall (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780811849098
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Chronicle Books - May 3rd, 2007

The moment they saw each other, Bean and Ivy knew they wouldn't be friends. But when Bean plays a joke on her sister, Nancy, and has to quickly hide and Ivy comes to the rescue, proving that sometimes the best of friends are people never meant to like each other. Vibrant characters and lots of humor make this a charming and addictive introduction to the Ivy and Bean Book Series.

From beloved children's book author Annie Barrows, The Ivy & Bean collection has been delighting preschool, kindergarten, elementary, and kids of all ages for nearly two decades. Centered upon messages promoting friendship, empathy, and understanding, each book follows Ivy and Bean on their various adventures through adolescent life.


What John Marco Saw: (Children’s Self-Esteem Books, Kid’s Picture Books, Cute Children’s Stories) Cover Image
By Annie Barrows, Nancy Lemon (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781452163369
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Chronicle Books - October 1st, 2019

Sometimes the smallest people have the biggest things to say: John Marco is small and everyone around him is big and busy–too busy to stop and listen. The thing is, John Marco is busy, too! He's busy noticing and exploring the world around him. Maybe everyone should slow down and pay attention to John Marco. If they do, they might witness some the incredible things John Marco sees.


The Magic Half Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781619636255
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - September 16th, 2014

Miri is the non-twin child in a family with two sets of them—older brothers and younger sisters. When her family moves to an old farmhouse in a new town, the only good thing seems to be Miri's ten-sided attic bedroom. But when Miri gets sent to her room after accidentally bashing her big brother on the head, she finds herself in the same room . . . only not quite.

Without meaning to, she has found a way to travel back in time to 1935 where she discovers Molly, a girl her own age very much in need of a loving family. A highly satisfying classic-in-the-making full of spine-tingling moments, this is delightful time-travel story will have readers clamoring for another treat of twin-inspired magic in the follow up Magic in the Mix.


Magic in the Mix Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781619637986
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - October 20th, 2015

New twin sisters Miri and Molly are ready for a normal life. But just when they think there's smooth sailing ahead, a door opens, time folds, and magic is unleashed from their very special house.

The girls set off on a new adventure, playing a cat-and-mouse game with time--and trouble--as they discover two soldiers in need of their help. With cunning, imagination, and the inadvertent assistance of their kitten, Molly and Miri must find a way to save themselves and their wayward brothers from the past.

Brimming with lovable characters and spine-tingling magic, this sequel will bring new readers to Annie Barrows' highly acclaimed, wonderfully popular world of twin-inspired magic.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780385341004
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - May 5th, 2009


“I wonder how the book got to Guernsey? Perhaps there is some sort of secret homing instinct in books that brings them to their perfect readers.” January 1946: London is emerging from the shadow of the Second World War, and writer Juliet Ashton is looking for her next book subject. Who could imagine that she would find it in a letter from a man she’s never met, a native of the island of Guernsey, who has come across her name written inside a book by Charles Lamb. . . .

As Juliet and her new correspondent exchange letters, Juliet is drawn into the world of this man and his friends—and what a wonderfully eccentric world it is. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society—born as a spur-of-the-moment alibi when its members were discovered breaking curfew by the Germans occupying their island—boasts a charming, funny, deeply human cast of characters, from pig farmers to phrenologists, literature lovers all.

Juliet begins a remarkable correspondence with the society’s members, learning about their island, their taste in books, and the impact the recent German occupation has had on their lives. Captivated by their stories, she sets sail for Guernsey, and what she finds will change her forever.

Written with warmth and humor as a series of letters, this novel is a celebration of the written word in all its guises and of finding connection in the most surprising ways.


Nothing Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062668240
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - October 2nd, 2018


“Remarkable.”—New York Times Book Review

From Annie Barrows, the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling coauthor of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the author of the award-winning and bestselling Ivy + Bean books, this teen debut tells the story of Charlotte and Frankie, two high school students and best friends who don’t have magical powers, fight aliens, crash their cars, get pierced, or discover they are royal. They just go to school. And live at home. With their parents. A great read for fans of Becky Albertalli, Louise Rennison, and Adi Alsaid.

Nothing ever happens to Charlotte and Frankie. Their lives are nothing like the lives of the girls they read about in their YA novels. They don’t have flowing red hair, and hot romantic encounters never happen—let alone meeting a true soul mate. They just go to high school and live at home with their parents, who are pretty normal, all things considered.

But when Charlotte decides to write down everything that happens during their sophomore year—to prove that nothing happens and there is no plot or character development in real life—she’s surprised to find that being fifteen isn’t as boring as she thought. It’s weird, heartbreaking, silly, and complicated. And maybe, just perfect.


Event Address: 
Zoom Webinar URL:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83004824252?pwd=ZTIrN1lHeFJsa2NqS3UwMjNvVEQ4QT09
Minneapolis, MN 55410
United States