Wild Rumpus Bestsellers

These are our very own bestsellers for the week of June 2-June 8.

Kitchen Science Lab for Kids: EDIBLE EDITION: 52 Mouth-Watering Recipes and the Everyday Science That Makes Them Taste Amazing Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9781631597411
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quarry Books - June 11th, 2019

Kitchen Science Lab for Kids: EDIBLE EDITION gives you 52 delicious ways to explore food science in your own kitchen by making everything from healthy homemade snacks to scrumptious main dishes and mind-boggling desserts.

When you step into your kitchen to cook or bake, you put science to work. Physics and chemistry come into play each time you simmer, steam, bake, freeze, boil, puree, saute, or ferment food. Knowing something about the physics, biology, and chemistry of food will give you the basic tools to be the best chef you can be.

Bodacious Bubble Tea, Flavorful Fruit Leather, Super Spring Rolls, Mouthwatering Meatballs…divided by course, each lab presents a step-by-step recipe for a delicious drink, snack, sauce, main dish, dessert, or decoration. The Science Behind the Food section included with each recipe will help you understand the science concepts and nutrition behind the ingredients. Have fun learning about:

  • Bacteria and the chemical process of fermentation by making your own pickled vegetables.
  • Emulsion as you create your own vinaigrette.
  • How trapped water vapor causes a popover to inflate as you make your own.
  • Crystals by making your own ice cream.

Mix and match the recipes to pair pasta with your favorite sauce, make ice cream to serve in homemade chocolate bowls, or whip up the perfect frosting for your cake. There are plenty of fun, edible decorations included for the art lovers in the crowd. Before long, you’ll have the confidence to throw together a feast, bake and decorate show-worthy cakes, or use what you’ve learned to create your own recipes.

For those with food allergies, all recipes are nut-free and other allergens are clearly labeled throughout.

Let’s get cooking—and learning!
 
The popular Lab for Kids series features a growing list of books that share hands-on activities and projects on a wide host of topics, including art, astronomy, clay, geology, math, and even how to create your own circus—all authored by established experts in their fields. Each lab contains a complete materials list, clear step-by-step photographs of the process, as well as finished samples. The labs can be used as singular projects or as part of a yearlong curriculum of experiential learning. The activities are open-ended, designed to be explored over and over, often with different results. Geared toward being taught or guided by adults, they are enriching for a range of ages and skill levels. Gain firsthand knowledge on your favorite topic with Lab for Kids. 


Baby Goes to Market Cover Image
By Atinuke, Angela Brooksbank (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781536205527
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - March 12th, 2019

Join Baby and his doting mama at a bustling southwest Nigerian marketplace for a bright, bouncy read-aloud offering a gentle introduction to numbers.

Market is very crowded.
Mama is very busy.
Baby is very curious.
When Baby and Mama go to the market, Baby is so adorable that the banana seller gives him six bananas. Baby eats one and puts five in the basket, but Mama doesn’t notice. As Mama and Baby wend their way through the stalls, cheeky Baby collects five oranges, four biscuits, three ears of sweet corn, two pieces of coconut . . . until Mama notices that her basket is getting very heavy! Poor Baby, she thinks, he must be very hungry by now! Rhythmic language, visual humor, and a bounty of delectable food make this a tale that is sure to whet little appetites for story time.


Staff Pick Badge
Internment Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316522694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 19th, 2019

Rebellions are built on hope.

Set in a horrifying near-future United States, seventeen-year-old Layla Amin and her parents are forced into an internment camp for Muslim American citizens.

With the help of newly made friends also trapped within the internment camp, her boyfriend on the outside, and an unexpected alliance, Layla begins a journey to fight for freedom, leading a revolution against the internment camp's Director and his guards.

Heart-racing and emotional, Internment challenges readers to fight complicit silence that exists in our society today.


Wherever You Go Cover Image
By Pat Zietlow Miller, Eliza Wheeler (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316487948
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: LB Kids - February 12th, 2019



This inspiring and beautiful celebration of life and new experiences--now available as a board book--is the perfect gift for graduations and for fans of Oh, the Places You'll Go!

Join an adventurous rabbit and his animal friends as they journey over steep mountain peaks, through bustling cityscapes, and down long, winding roads to discover the magical worlds that lie just outside their doors.

Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Pat Zietlow Miller's lilting rhyme and New York Times bestselling illustrator Eliza Wheeler's enchanting, lush landscapes celebrate the possibilities that wait beyond the next bend in the road--the same road that will always lead you home again.


Camp Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781328530820
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - April 23rd, 2019


Raina Telgemeier and Frazzled fans, rejoice! Author-illustrator Kayla Miller is back with Olive in this emotional and honest story about navigating new experiences, learning to step outside one’s comfort zone, and the satisfaction of blazing your own trails.

Olive and Willow are happy campers!
Or are they?
 
Olive is sure she’ll have the best time at summer camp with her friend Willow – but while Olive makes quick friends with the other campers, Willow struggles to form connections and latches on to the only person she knows – Olive. It’s s’more than Olive can handle! The stress of being Willow's living security blanket begins to wear on Olive and before long…the girls aren’t just fighting, they may not even be friends by the time camp is over. Will the two be able to patch things up before the final lights out?

Look for more of Olive's adventures in Click!


The Forever Sky Cover Image
By Thomas Peacock, Annette S. Lee (Illustrator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781681340982
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minnesota Historical Society Press - April 2019

"Nooko's spirit is there in the stars," says Niigaanii to his younger brother, Bineshiinh, as they sprawl in a meadow, gazing skyward. "Uncle said when Nooko': s spirit left this world it went there." Nooko was their grandmother, and they miss her. But Uncle helps them find comfort in the night sky, where all the stars have stories.
Indeed, there are so many stars and so many stories that the boys spend night after night observing and sharing, making sense of patterns and wisdom in "the forever sky." They see a moose, a loon, a crane, the Path of Souls, and so much more.
One night, a beautiful show of lights fills the sky. Niigaanii explains that the northern lights are the spirits of the relatives who have passed on. The boys imagine different relatives dancing, lighting up the sky with their graceful movements. And then they see her: Nooko is one of the elders leading the dance. She has a message for them. One they can share with their parents and their uncle and everyone else who remembers her. One that lends power to the skies and brings smiles to the stargazers' faces.


Dream Big and Other Life Lessons from the Enormous Crocodile Cover Image
By Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781524792091
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grosset & Dunlap - April 2nd, 2019

A darkly funny gift book based on Roald Dahl's beloved story The Enormous Crocodile, featuring art by Quentin Blake.

The Enormous Crocodile has been employing "secret plans and clever tricks" for years, hoping to one day score his favorite meal: a juicy little child. And finally, he shares his wit and wisdom with a world hungry for his sage advice. Find out all of our devious villain's tips and advice in this grim, but humorous gift book perfect for fans of All My Friends Are Dead. And with Quentin Blake's illustrations, this full-color book will have readers plotting their own clever tricks in no time.


Song for a Whale Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524770235
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - February 5th, 2019

In the spirit of modern-day classics like Fish in a Tree and Counting by 7s comes the story of a deaf girl's connection to a whale whose song can't be heard by his species, and the journey she takes to help him.

From fixing the class computer to repairing old radios, twelve-year-old Iris is a tech genius. But she's the only deaf person in her school, so people often treat her like she's not very smart. If you've ever felt like no one was listening to you, then you know how hard that can be.

When she learns about Blue 55, a real whale who is unable to speak to other whales, Iris understands how he must feel. Then she has an idea: she should invent a way to "sing" to him! But he's three thousand miles away. How will she play her song for him?

Full of heart and poignancy, this affecting story by sign language interpreter Lynne Kelly shows how a little determination can make big waves.

"Fascinating, brave, and tender...a triumph." --Katherine Applegate, Newbery Award-winning author of The One and Only Ivan


Dad By My Side Cover Image
By Soosh
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316438087
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 8th, 2018

A heartwarming celebration of the special relationship between a father and daughter from Instagram sensation Soosh.

Whether they're playing make-believe, making you smile, or warding off monsters under the bed, dads are always there when you need them. Debut picture book artist Soosh celebrates fathers with a gorgeously illustrated and moving story about the parent-child bond.
 
When Soosh first posted her initial series of images of a larger-than-life father and his adorable daughter on Instagram, fans from across the world immediately took notice with over 2 million views on a popular viral content website in a single week.
 
These illustrations now come together in a universally relatable story of familial love for parents and children to share.


5 Worlds Book 3: The Red Maze Cover Image
By Mark Siegel, Alexis Siegel, Xanthe Bouma (Illustrator), Matt Rockefeller (Illustrator), Boya Sun (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781101935941
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - May 7th, 2019

R. J. Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of WONDER, hails this adventure series as "Mind-blowingly beautiful. . . . A must-read."

Think Star Wars meets Avatar: The Last Airbender!


In book 3, Oona Lee is determined to light Moon Yatta's beacon and continue her quest to save the galaxy. But reaching the red beacon means navigating an impossible maze of pipes and facing devious enemies at every turn. Luckily, her friend Jax Amboy has returned from his adventures transformed! Now he must confront the owner of his former starball team, a ruthless businessman who will stop at nothing to get his best player back on the field . . . and who can grant them access to the beacon. Meanwhile, Oona and An Tzu find a mysterious rebel leader and release a surprising power within Oona's magic. Will they make it in time to stop the evil force seeking to rule the 5 Worlds?