Celebrating Black Creators: Young Adult Books

Concrete Rose Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062846716
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 12th, 2021

International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.


When You Look Like Us Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062945891
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Quill Tree Books - January 5th, 2021

From debut author Pamela Harris comes a timely, gripping teen novel about a boy who must take up the search for his sister when she goes missing from a neighborhood where black girls’ disappearances are too often overlooked. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Tiffany D. Jackson.


Happily Ever Afters Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062982834
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 5th, 2021

Jane the Virgin meets To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before in this charming debut romantic comedy filled with Black Girl Magic. Perfect for fans of Mary H. K. Choi and Nicola Yoon, with crossover appeal for readers of Jasmine Guillory and Talia Hibbert romances.


Chlorine Sky Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593176399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 12th, 2021

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X


Dear Justyce Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984829665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - September 29th, 2020

The stunning sequel to the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. Incarcerated teen Quan writes letters to Justyce about his experiences in the American juvenile justice system. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas.


A Song Below Water: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250315328
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Tor Teen - June 2nd, 2020

Bethany C. Morrow's A Song Below Water is the story for today’s readers — a captivating modern fantasy about Back sirens, friendship, and self-discovery set against the challenges of today's racism and sexism.

In a society determined to keep her under lock and key, Tavia must hide her siren powers.


You Should See Me in a Crown Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338503265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Scholastic Press - June 2nd, 2020

A Reese's Book Club YA Pick!

Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed midwestern town. But it's okay -- Liz has a plan that will get her out of Campbell, Indiana, forever: attend the uber-elite Pennington College, play in their world-famous orchestra, and become a doctor.


The Black Flamingo Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062990297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 26th, 2020

Stonewall Book Award Winner!

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.


Piecing Me Together Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781681191072
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Bloomsbury YA - June 5th, 2018

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner
New York Times bestseller
"Timely and timeless." --Jacqueline Woodson
"Important and deeply moving." --John Green


Acclaimed author Renee Watson offers a powerful story about a girl striving for success in a world that too often seems like it's trying to break her.


Not So Pure and Simple Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062349200
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 27th, 2020

"Hysterical. I couldn’t put it down.” (Nic Stone) "I laughed, I gasped, I church grunted through every chapter." (Tiffany D. Jackson) "Heartfelt and hilarious on every page!" (Justin A. Reynolds)

4 starred reviews! * An Indie Next List Pick!


Opposite of Always Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062748386
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - April 7th, 2020

“One of the best love stories I’ve ever read.” —Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give


The Poet X Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062662811
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Quill Tree Books - April 7th, 2020

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!


Let Me Hear a Rhyme Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062840332
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 19th, 2020

In this striking new novel by the critically acclaimed author of Allegedly and Monday’s Not Coming, Tiffany D. Jackson tells the story of three Brooklyn teens who plot to turn their murdered friend into a major rap star by pretending he's still alive.


Dear Haiti, Love Alaine Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781335910028
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Inkyard Press - December 1st, 2020

"I couldn't put Dear Haiti, Love Alaine down " --New York Times bestselling author Jasmine Guillory

"An enchanting and engrossing novel full of wit and laughter." --Edwidge Danticat, author of Breath, Eyes, Memory

"Remarkable, funny, and whip-smart." --Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street, National Book Award finalist


Full Disclosure Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781984829986
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - December 1st, 2020

"An unflinchingly honest, eye-opening, heartful story that's sure to keep readers talking." --Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give and On the Come Up


Long Way Down Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781481438261
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - April 2nd, 2019

“An intense snapshot of the chain reaction caused by pulling a trigger.” —Booklist (starred review)
“Astonishing.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“A tour de force.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)


A Newbery Honor Book
A Coretta Scott King Honor Book
A Printz Honor Book

A


Monday's Not Coming Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062422682
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - April 23rd, 2019

"Jackson’s characters and their heart-wrenching story linger long after the final page, urging readers to advocate for those who are disenfranchised and forgotten by society and the system." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")


Monster Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780064407311
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Amistad - March 5th, 2019

This New York Times bestselling novel from acclaimed author Walter Dean Myers tells the story of Steve Harmon, a teenage boy in juvenile detention and on trial. Presented as a screenplay of Steve's own imagination, and peppered with journal entries, the book shows how one single decision can change our whole lives. 


Ordinary Hazards: A Memoir Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781629798813
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Wordsong - October 8th, 2019

A Michael L. Printz Honor Book
A Robert F. Sibert Informational Honor Book
A Boston Globe/Horn Book Nonfiction Honor Book
Arnold Adoff Poetry Award for Teens

Six Starred Reviews -- ★Booklist ★BCCB ★The Horn Book ★Publishers Weekly ★School Library Connection ★Shelf Awareness


The First Part Last Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781442403437
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2010

This little thing with the perfect face and hands doing nothing but counting on me. And me wanting nothing else but to run crying into my own mom's room and have her do the whole thing.
It's not going to happen....

Bobby is your classic urban teenaged boy -- impulsive, eager, restless.


War Girls Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780451481696
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Razorbill - September 8th, 2020

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria.

The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.


Edited by National Book Award finalist Ibi Zoboi, and featuring some of the most acclaimed bestselling Black authors writing for teens today—Black Enough is an essential collection of captivating stories about what it’s like to be young and Black in America. A selection of the Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List.


The Stars and the Blackness Between Them Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780525555490
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Penguin Books - June 23rd, 2020

A Coretta Scott King Honor Book

Told in two distinct and irresistible voices, Junauda Petrus's bold and lyrical debut is the story of two black girls from very different backgrounds finding love and happiness in a world that seems determined to deny them both.


Black Panther: World of Wakanda Cover Image
By Ta-Nehisi Coates (Text by), Roxane Gay (Text by), Yona Harvey (Text by), Alitha Martinez (Illustrator), Afua Richardson (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781302906504
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Marvel - June 27th, 2017

The world building of Wakanda continues in a love story where tenderness is matched only by brutality! You know them now as the Midnight Angels, but in this story they are just Ayo and Aneka, young women recruited to become Dora Milaje, an elite task force trained to protect the crown of Wakanda at all costs. Their first assignment will be to protect Queen Shuri...


Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur Vol. 1: BFF Cover Image
By Amy Reeder (Text by), Brandon Montclare (Text by), Natacha Bustos (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781302900052
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Marvel - July 5th, 2016

LUNELLA LAFAYETTE is a preteen super genius who wants to change the world-but learned the hard way that it takes MORE than just big brains. Fearful of the monstrous INHUMAN genes inside her, life is turned upside down when a savage, red-scaled tyrant is teleported from prehistoric past to a far-flung future we call TODAY.


Dread Nation Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062570611
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 4th, 2019

New York Times bestseller; 6 starred reviews!

At once provocative, terrifying, and darkly subversive, Dread Nation is Justina Ireland's stunning vision of an America both foreign and familiar—a country on the brink, at the explosive crossroads where race, humanity, and survival meet.