Celebrating Black Creators: Adult Books

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316536981
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - February 2nd, 2021

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a brilliant Caribbean writer delivers a powerful story about four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise."

In Baxter’s Beach, Barbados, Lala’s grandmother Wilma tells the story of the one-armed sister.


A Little Devil in America: Notes in Praise of Black Performance Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984801197
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Random House - March 30th, 2021

A stirring meditation on Black performance in America from the New York Times bestselling author of Go Ahead in the Rain


Such a Fun Age Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525541912
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - April 20th, 2021

A Best Book of the Year:


Lakewood: A Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062913203
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Amistad - March 16th, 2021

NPR Book of the Year 2020


My Sister, the Serial Killer: A Novel Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780525564201
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Anchor - July 30th, 2019

NOMINATED FOR THE 2019 BOOKER PRIZE 
WINNER OF THE LA TIMES BOOK PRIZE FOR MYSTERY/THRILLER
FINALIST FOR THE 2019 WOMEN'S PRIZE



Staff Pick Badge
Transcendent Kingdom: A novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780525658184
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Knopf - September 1st, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK! • Finalist for the WOMEN'S PRIZE

Yaa Gyasi's stunning follow-up to her acclaimed national best seller Homegoing is a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama
.


The Vanishing Half: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525536291
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - June 2nd, 2020

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF 2020 BY THE NEW YORK TIMES * THE WASHINGTON POST * NPR * PEOPLE * TIME MAGAZINE* VANITY FAIR * GLAMOUR 


2021 WOMEN'S PRIZE FINALIST


Saving Ruby King Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780778305095
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Park Row - June 16th, 2020

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2020 by Ms. Magazine, USA Today Book Riot, The Rumpus, Library Journal, PureWow, The Every Girl, Parade and more.

"Forever and to the end. That's what they say instead of I love you."


The Freedom Artist Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781617757921
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Akashic Books - February 4th, 2020

An impassioned plea for freedom and justice, set in a world uncomfortably like our own, by the Booker Prize-winner Ben Okri.

An NPR Best Book of 2020

With the stark power of myth, this political allegory evolves into an argument for artistic freedom.
--New York Times Book Review, a New & Noteworthy selection


Little Family: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780735211780
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - April 27th, 2021

From the #1 New York Timesbestselling author of A Long Way Gone.

A powerful novel about young people living at the margins of society, struggling to replace the homes they have lost with the one they have created together.


The Belle Créole (Caraf Books) Cover Image
By Maryse Condé, Nicole Simek (Translator), Dawn Fulton (Afterword by)
$21.95
ISBN: 9780813944227
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Virginia Press - April 28th, 2020

Possessing one of the most vital voices in international letters, Maryse Cond added to an already acclaimed career the New Academy Prize in Literature in 2018. The twelfth novel by this celebrated author revolves around an enigmatic crime and the young man at its center.


Freshwater Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802128997
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - December 18th, 2018

A National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" Honoree
Finalist for the PEN/Hemingway Award for a Debut Novel
Shortlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize


An American Marriage (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781616208684
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Algonquin Books - February 5th, 2019

A NEW YORK TIMES AND WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK

A 2018 BEST OF THE YEAR SELECTION OF NPR  * TIME  * BUSTLE  * O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE  * THE DALLAS MORNING NEWS  * AMAZON.COM

OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB 2018 SELECTION

 
WINNER OF THE 2019 NAACP IMAGE AWARD FOR OUTSTANDI


Difficult Women Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802127372
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - November 14th, 2017

A national bestseller from the "prolific and exceptionally insightful" (Globe and Mail) Roxane Gay, Difficult Women is a collection of stories of rare force that paints a wry, beautiful, haunting vision of modern America.


We Cast a Shadow: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525509073
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: One World - February 4th, 2020

“An incisive and necessary” (Roxane Gay) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty’s The Sellout, about a father’s obsessive quest to protect his son—even if it means turning him white


Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062363602
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - December 6th, 2016

The #1 New York Times bestseller


Black Leopard, Red Wolf (The Dark Star Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780735220188
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Riverhead Books - February 4th, 2020

One of TIME’s 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time

Winner of the L.A. Times Ray Bradbury Prize 

Finalist for the 2019 National Book Award

The New York Times Bestseller

Named a Best Book of 2019 by The Wall Street Journal, TIME, NPR, GQ, Vogue, and The Washington Post


The Nickel Boys: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780345804341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Anchor - June 30th, 2020

In this Pulitzer Prize-winning, New York Times bestselling follow-up to The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys unjustly sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.
 


Blues Vision: African American Writing from Minnesota Cover Image
By Alexs Pate (Editor), Pamela Fletcher (Editor), J. Otis Powell! (Editor), Davida Adedjouma (Contributions by), Louis Alemayehu (Contributions by), E.G. Bailey (Contributions by), Conrad Balfour (Contributions by), Lloyd Brown (Contributions by), Philip Bryant (Contributions by), Shá Cage (Contributions by), Laurie Carlos (Contributions by), Gabrielle Civil (Contributions by), Taiyon Coleman (Contributions by), Kyra Crawford-Calvert (Contributions by), Mary Moore Easter (Contributions by), Evelyn Fairbanks (Contributions by), Shannon Gibney (Contributions by), Taylor Gordon (Contributions by), David Grant (Contributions by), Craig Green (Contributions by), Libby Green (Contributions by), David Haynes (Contributions by), Kofi Bobby Hickman (Contributions by), Kim Hines (Contributions by), Carolyn Holbrook (Contributions by), Steven Holbrook (Contributions by), Kemet Imhotep (Contributions by), Andrea Jenkins (Contributions by), Nellie Stone Johnson (Contributions by), Tish Jones (Contributions by), Etheridge Knight (Contributions by), Arleta Little (Contributions by), Roy McBride (Contributions by), Gordon Parks (Contributions by), G.E. Patterson (Contributions by), Anthony Porter (Contributions by), Louis Porter, II (Contributions by), Rohan Preston (Contributions by), Ralph Remington (Contributions by), Angela Shannon (Contributions by), Susan J. Smith-Grier (Contributions by), Clarence White (Contributions by), Frank B. Wilderson, III (Contributions by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780873519731
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Minnesota Historical Society Press - February 1st, 2015

A rich Minnesota literary tradition is brought into the spotlight in this groundbreaking collection of incisive prose and powerful poetry by forty- three black writers who educate, inspire, and reveal the unabashed truth. Historically significant figures tell their stories, demonstrating how much and how little conditions have changed: Gordon Parks hitchhikes to Bemidji,Taylor Gordon describe