Celebrating Black Creators: Chapter and Middle Grade Books

Sadiq and the Desert Star Cover Image
By Siman Nuurali, Anjan Sarkar (Illustrator)
$6.95
ISBN: 9781515845652
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Picture Window Books - August 1st, 2019

When Sadiq's father leaves on a business trip, he worries he'll miss his baba too much. But Baba has a story for Sadiq: the story of the Desert Star. Learning about Baba's passion for the stars sparks Sadiq's interest in outer space. But can Sadiq find others who are willing to help him start the space club of his dreams?


Make Way for Dyamonde Daniel (A Dyamonde Daniel Book #1) Cover Image
By Nikki Grimes, R. Gregory Christie (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780142415559
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Puffin Books - March 4th, 2010

"Dyamonde, a third grader, has "wild-crazy hair," is "skinnier than half a toothpick" and is more than equal to the challenge of entering the crowded field of confident grade school heroines."—New York Times


Root Magic Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062899576
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Walden Pond Press - January 5th, 2021

“A poignant, necessary entry into the children’s literary canon, Root Magic brings to life the history and culture of Gullah people while highlighting the timeless plight of Black Americans.


Becoming Muhammad Ali Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316498166
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: jimmy patterson - October 5th, 2020

From two heavy-hitters in children's literature comes a critically acclaimed biographical novel of cultural icon Muhammad Ali.

*"This utterly delightful story about Ali's childhood is a smash hit."
--School Library Journal (starred review)

Five starred reviews!


The Last Mirror on the Left (A Legendary Alston Boys Adventure) Cover Image
By Lamar Giles, Dapo Adeola (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358129417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Versify - October 20th, 2020

In this new Legendary Alston Boys adventure from Edgar-nominated author Lamar Giles, Otto and Sheed must embark on their most dangerous journey yet, bringing a fugitive to justice in a world that mirrors their own but has its own rules to play by.

Unlike the majority of Logan County's residents, Missus Nedraw of the Rorrim Mirror Emporium remembers the time freeze from


Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (A Tristan Strong Novel, Book 1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781368042413
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - September 22nd, 2020

Winner of a Coretta Scott King Author Honor

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents Kwame Mbalia's epic fantasy, a middle grade American Gods set in a richly-imagined world populated with African American folk heroes and West African gods.


The Crossover (The Crossover Series) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780544935204
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - March 5th, 2019

New York Times bestseller ∙ Newbery Medal Winner ∙Coretta Scott King Honor Award ∙2015 YALSA 2015 Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults2015 YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers ∙Publishers Weekly Best Book ∙ School Library Journal Best Book∙ Kirkus Best Book

"A beautifully mea


Ways to Make Sunshine (A Ryan Hart Novel #1) Cover Image
By Renée Watson, Nina Mata (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547600564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - April 28th, 2020

From Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winner Renée Watson comes the first book in a young middle grade series about Ryan Hart, a ten-year-old girl who is pure spirit, kindness, and sunshine.


Ghost (Track #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481450164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - August 29th, 2017

A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.
Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read.


Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of the acclaimed Track series from Coretta Scott Ki


The Jumbies Cover Image
$7.95
ISBN: 9781616205928
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - April 26th, 2016

Corinne La Mer claims she isn’t afraid of anything. Not scorpions, not the boys who tease her, and certainly not jumbies. They’re just tricksters made up by parents to frighten their children. Then one night Corinne chases an agouti all the way into the forbidden forest, and shining yellow eyes follow her to the edge of the trees. They couldn’t belong to a jumbie.


Clayton Byrd Goes Underground Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062215932
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 8th, 2018

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.


Some Places More Than Others Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781681191102
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - September 8th, 2020

From Newbery Honor- and Coretta Scott King Author Award-winning, New York Times bestselling author Renée Watson comes a heartwarming and inspiring novel for middle schoolers about finding deep roots and exploring the past, the present, and the places that make us who we are.


Bud, Not Buddy Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780440413288
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Yearling - January 8th, 2002

The Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Award-winning classic about a boy who decides to hit the road to find his father—from Christopher Paul Curtis, author of The Watsons Go To Birmingham—1963, a Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree.
 


The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963 Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780440414124
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Yearling - September 8th, 1997

Celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Newbery and Coretta Scott King Honoree about an unforgettable family on a road-trip during one of the most important times in the civil rights movement.


Dragons in a Bag Cover Image
By Zetta Elliott, Geneva B (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781524770488
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Yearling - August 13th, 2019

The dragon's out of the bag in this diverse, young urban fantasy from an award-winning author--with two starred reviews!


Bayou Magic Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316224857
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 3rd, 2016

A magical coming-of-age story from Coretta Scott King honor author Jewell Parker Rhodes, rich with Southern folklore, friendship, family, fireflies and mermaids, plus an environmental twist.


Hidden Figures Young Readers' Edition Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780062662378
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - November 29th, 2016

The uplifting, amazing true story—a New York Times bestseller!

This edition of Margot Lee Shetterly’s acclaimed book is perfect for young readers. It's the powerful story of four African-American female mathematicians at NASA who helped achieve some of the greatest moments in our space program. 


The Red Pencil Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316247825
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 3rd, 2015


From the Desk of Zoe Washington Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062875860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 5th, 2021

Amazon Best Book of the Month * #1 Kids Indie Next List * Parents Magazine Best Book of the Year * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of the Year * SLJ Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * Junior Library Guild Selection * Four Starred Reviews<