Storm (Hardcover)

Storm Cover Image

Storm (Hardcover)

$16.99


On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
2 on hand, as of Jun 26 5:18am
(INT)

The sinister eeriness of Doll Bones meets the dark humor of Lemony Snicket in this smart middle grade ghost story.

Frances—you can call her Frankie—was not a happy baby. She was born amidst chaos, to two loving but unprepared parents. On a beach. In a storm. No wonder she’s always had a temper.

And you know what did nothing to quell her anger? Dying dramatically in a freak natural disaster that wiped out her whole town.

As a ghost, it’s not so easy for Frankie to hide her rage, especially when suspicious visitors to her ruined home seem to have a keen and ominous interest in her. But when you were born with a storm inside you—sometimes the only way to calm it is to finally let it out.

Readers who loved the heart of books like Shouting at the Rain and Orphan Island will love following Frankie’s ghostly journey.

Nicola Skinner was born in Sao Paulo, Brazil, where she spent an idyllic early childhood mostly watching some very dramatic telenovelas, reading comics, and going to the beach. When she was nine, she swapped all of that to attend boarding school in Great Britain, which didn’t have beaches, unfortunately, but where she learned a love for books and writing. A former journalist and copywriter, she is now a full-time author of children’s books.
Product Details ISBN: 9780063071681
ISBN-10: 0063071681
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 29th, 2022
Pages: 384
Language: English

"Centered around the theme of allowing oneself to feel and experience anger, sadness, and pain rather than shoving them down, it challenges societal norms of adults “tidying up” kids’ feelings. A hauntingly memorable mixture of humor and honest emotion." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Skinner’s poignant story of Frankie’s ordinary and heartbreaking afterlife tackles grand themes of love, forgiveness, friendship, and even the meaning of life. A perfect book for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline and The Graveyard Book."Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)