The Anti-Book (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Anti-Book Cover Image

The Anti-Book (Paperback)

$8.99


On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
5 on hand, as of Jun 26 5:18am
(INT)

Staff Reviews


The Anti-Book hit me right in my twelve-years-old-and-mad-at-everything feelings. Mickey reminded me of myself as a young person, and reminded me that it's okay to feel angry (or sad or confused) as long as it's expressed in safe ways. Pseudonymous Bosch's first book under his real name is a fantastical, funny, queer coming-of-age story that's great for fans of Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl.

— Timothy, Wild Rumpus

With nods to The Phantom Tollbooth and Coraline, this darkly funny fantasy is a classic-in-the-making—the story of a boy who wants the world to disappear . . . and what happens when it does.

Mickey is angry all the time: at his divorced parents, at his sister, and at his two new stepmoms, both named Charlie. And so he can't resist the ad inside his pack of gum: "Do you ever wish everyone would go away? Buy The Anti-Book!" He orders the book, but when it arrives, it's blank—except for one line of instruction: To erase it, write it. He fills the pages with all the things and people he dislikes . . . and the next thing he knows, he's wandering an anti-world, one in which everything and everyone familiar is gone. Or are they?

Full of humor and surprise, and slyly meaningful, this is a Wizard of Oz for today's generation—a fantastical quest for comfort and belonging that will resonate with many, many readers.
Raphael Simon is an author who lives in Pasadena, CA, with his husband and twin daughters. He is definitely not the alter ego of infamously anonymous author Pseudonymous Bosch, writer of the New York Times bestselling Secret Series and the Bad Books.
Product Details ISBN: 9780525552420
ISBN-10: 0525552421
Publisher: Rocky Pond Books
Publication Date: April 5th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English
"Filled with clever wordplay and puns come-to-life. Its world crackles with imagination . . . The Anti-Book is a surprisingly powerful, formula-breaking coming-of-age story." —The New York Times

★ "Simon’s omniscient narrator speaks to readers with equal parts humor, sarcasm, and intrigue. Short, quick-moving chapters, filled with dialogue and action, will keep the interest of its target audience . . . the strange, fantastical nature of this book is a fresh and welcome remix of the coming-of-age genre." —School Library Journal, starred review

"Lively interstitial illustrations show the White tween in both realistic and fantastical settings . . . Short sentences and a fast-moving plot will especially appeal to reluctant readers. A bubble-gum story disguising some real substance." —Kirkus

"Simon offers wacky, inventive sidekicks and plenty of humor, but it’s also weirdly refreshing to adventure with a grumpy protagonist truly wallowing in his misery. On the flip side, it’s heartening to watch Mickey grow in self-love and self-awareness and ultimately realize that he has been papering over deeper emotions with surface complaints. A sweetly silly but satisfying concoction." —Booklist

"With this fast-paced, humorous adventure, Simon explores the complicated interplay of negative emotions as Mickey learns to confront his shifting 'states of mind' and cope with the world around him." —Publishers Weekly

“This book will move you, make you laugh, and change the way you think. A mind-bending experience, unlike anything you've ever read before.” —Adam Gidwitz, author of The Inquisitor’s Tale
 
“This exciting, clever, and ultimately moving book deserves a place on the same shelf as our most beloved children’s fantasies.” —Trenton Lee Stewart, author of The Mysterious Benedict Society

Wildly original. Witty. Whimsical. This book is clever and full of good humor. Kids (and their parents) will love it." —Holly Goldberg Sloan, author of Counting by 7s
 
“Quirky, snarky, and fast-paced. I’m very much pro The Anti-Book. I loved it!” —Chris Grabenstein, author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library
 
“Rafi Simon has created a wildly inventive world and a story that is both deep and deeply funny.” —Stuart Gibbs, author of Spy School