Honey and Me (Hardcover)

Honey and Me By Meira Drazin Cover Image

Honey and Me (Hardcover)

$17.99


On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
1 on hand, as of Mar 2 4:33am
(INT)
Fans of Judy Blume, The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street, and The Penderwicks will love this funny, charismatic story of a Jewish girl striving to forge her own identity in the shadow of her fearless best friend.

**A 2023 Sydney Taylor Award Honor Book!**

**A Kirkus Best Book of 2022**

* "Authentic, joyful, achingly real." — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* “An effortless story that is both widely relatable and culturally specific…highly recommended.” — School Library Journal, starred review

“Refreshing.” — School Library Connection, recommended

Milla and Honey have been best friends since forever.

Milla envies Honey’s confidence, her charisma, and her big, chaotic family—especially when they provide a welcome escape from Milla’s own small family and quiet house. In their close-knit Jewish community, the two girls do everything together, from delivering meals to an ill-tempered elderly neighbor, to shopping at a local thrift store, celebrating the holidays, and going to their first bat mitzvahs while studying for their own.

So when Honey joins Milla’s school for sixth grade, why is it not as great as Milla expected? Can their friendship survive all the ups and downs the year has in store for them? And will Milla ever find the courage to step out of Honey’s shadow and into her own spotlight?

Charming, authentic, and wise, Honey and Me is a classic coming-of-age story filled with relatable middle school struggles, keen insight, and sparkling humor.

Meira Drazin is a prolific freelance writer who has published dozens of articles about parenting and topics of Jewish interest. Honey and Me—her debut novel—won the Sydney Taylor Manuscript Award, given by the Association of Jewish Libraries to an unpublished fiction manuscript with appeal to Jewish and non-Jewish readers. Meira grew up in Toronto, built an adult life in New York, and now lives in London with her husband and their four children. Learn more at meiradrazin.com.
Product Details ISBN: 9781338155433
ISBN-10: 1338155431
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: October 18th, 2022
Pages: 304
Language: English

Praise for Honey and Me:

A 2023 Sydney Taylor Award Honor Book

A Kirkus Best Book of 2022

* “The need for approval and appreciation is also well developed, as is feeling connected and anchored to one’s culture and religion. . . . The story’s structure is chronological, with sections named for major events in the Jewish calendar, emphasizing the way that Milla’s life is organized around them. . . . Authentic, joyful, achingly real.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* “A poignant coming-of-age middle grade novel that follows . . . two best friends navigating social circles, mother-daughter relationships, religious identity, and the complexities of sixth grade bat mitzvah season. . . . While the tweens are a part of a close-knit, modern Orthodox community, the novel showcases the diversity in traditions, expectations, and schools within that community. . . . An effortless story that is both widely relatable and culturally specific. This excellent title featuring main characters not often represented in contemporary realistic fiction is highly recommended.” — School Library Journal, starred review

“A mostly light episodic novel with a number of strong through lines, the story follows the characters through the school year, with sections named for Jewish holidays and other observances. The honest narrative highlights the sorts of differences within communities that a sixth grader might notice. . . . And while much of the focus is on family, it’s also on the maturing girls as individuals as they each figure out what matters to them.” — The Horn Book

“It is refreshing to read about a grounded friendship that holds up to adolescent stresses. Suffused with Jewish tradition and observances . . . the story succeeds in making clear in context what could be unfamiliar to readers while keeping the focus on the universal themes of friendship and the struggle for independence.” — School Library Connection, recommended

“Puts its finger precisely on the pulse of adolescence, capturing the power, and also heartbreak, of close female friendships, difficult mother-daughter relationships and teachers who change our lives forever.” — Jewish Journal

Hon­ey and Me illus­trates that Jew­ish obser­vance can be impor­tant and mean­ing­ful while still leav­ing room for the dai­ly dra­mas of pre­teen-and-teen life. Appre­ci­a­tion for fam­i­ly, com­mu­ni­ty, and close friends is a hall­mark of the sto­ry.” — Jewish Book Council

“This lively tale of family, friendship and self-discovery is filled with all the warmth that the girls' loving Jewish community has to offer. . . . The author astutely captures the subtle nuances of the relationship between Milla and Honey. . . . young readers of different backgrounds are given a glimpse into the traditions that have shaped both girls.” — Canadian Children’s Book News

“Heartwarming…and inspiring…I loved it!” — M. Evan Wolkenstein, author of Turtle Boy, winner of the 2021 Sydney Taylor Book Award

​​​​“A gentle coming-of-age tale of friendship, family and faith that revels in the small moments of Jewish life.” — Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of Frankie and Bug, We Are Inevitable, and If I Stay

"At once Jewish and universal.” — Madelyn Rosenberg, coauthor of Not Your All-American Girl and This Is Just a Test, a Sydney Taylor Book Award Honor Book

"Drazin has created an emotional and heartfelt modern-day classic that will resonate with young readers.” — Elaine Vickers, award-winning author of Like Magic and Paper Chains