The Doomfire Secret (Celestial Mechanism Cycle #2) (Hardcover)

The Doomfire Secret (Celestial Mechanism Cycle #2) By Annaliese Avery Cover Image

The Doomfire Secret (Celestial Mechanism Cycle #2) (Hardcover)

$18.99


On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
1 on hand, as of Apr 24 3:25am
(INT)
The second in a brand-new, richly-immersive, magical fantasy trilogy from author Annaliese Avery, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Cornelia Funke, and Diana Wynn Jones.

A new fate awaits, despite the danger

Paisley Fitzwilliam is not supposed to be alive. Her stars told her she was going to die, and she did—stabbed by the Dark Dragon. Against all logic, she has come back through the Veil and now has to deal with the wreck that was left behind. Her mother is dead and her brother, Dax, has been taken by the fierce and mysterious dragon riders, the Krigare. To make matters more complicated, Paisley receives a message that the Chief Designer wants to gift her a second set of stars. A new track to follow in life. A fresh start after her rebirth—something the Chief Designer has never offered before. But the stars have brought Paisley nothing but pain, and she no longer wants anything to do with them. She just wants to rescue her brother and stay safe from the Dark Dragon.

And so Paisley begins the journey to the icy Northern Realms accompanied by her trusted friends. Her plan is to bring their new Dragon Guard companion, Hal Northman, home to the north and pray that the Krigare will give her Dax in exchange for him. She only hopes that they make it before Dax is further imperiled. Paisley must trust her instincts to forge her own path if she is going to survive the dangers ahead.

Annaliese Avery has spent most of her life surrounded by stories, both at work as a library manager and at home writing them. She holds an MA in Creative Writing and has worked as a children's book editor and creative writing workshop leader for both young writers and adults. In January 2020, Annaliese was shortlisted for the SCBWI Undiscovered Voices anthology. The Nightsilver Promise was her debut middle-grade novel, and the first in a thrilling, new fantasy trilogy. You can learn more at annalieseavery.com and follow her on Twitter at @AnnalieseAvery.
Product Details ISBN: 9781338754490
ISBN-10: 1338754491
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: February 7th, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English

Praise for The Nightsilver Promise:

"Avery’s fast-paced and inventive novel features an alternate London that runs on clockwork and dragon fire, an Amerika where dragons still roam, and independent boroughs floating above the cities below. The history and philosophy of the empire are astonishingly detailed, and a cliff-hanger ending will send readers scrambling for a sequel." — Booklist

"Paisley’s warmth and intelligence shine through this exploration of fate’s inevitability and the conflict between science and magic." — Publishers Weekly

"Destiny, science, stars, and a sprinkle of magic." — Vashti Hardy, author of Brightstorm

"A smart, original fantasy adventure." — Dominique Valente, author of the Starfell series