Michael Hall

Saturday, March 16, 11AM

Acclaimed Minnesotan author and illustrator Michael Hall is coming to Wild Rumpus to celebrate the release of his newest picture book, Monkey Time. Come enjoy a story time and a bit of monkey business with Michael Hall on Saturday, March 16 at 11AM.

You may know Michael from his other beautiful and charming books, including My Heart is Like a Zoo, Frankencrayon, and one of our all time favorites, Red: a Crayon's Story.

Preorder your book here! If you would like your book personally inscribed and signed by Michael Hall, just indicate to whom you would like it inscribed in the customer notes when you order, or call the bookstore to place your order at 612-920-5005. If you are unable to attend the event, you can pick up your book anytime after March 16th.


 

Date: 
Saturday, 16 March 2019 - 11:00am
Books: 
Monkey Time Cover Image
By Michael Hall, Michael Hall (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062383020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 26th, 2019

Can you catch a minute? A monkey chases a minute in the rainforest in this clever, funny, and informational story about the concept of time from Michael Hall, the New York Times–bestselling and acclaimed author of Red: A Crayon’s Story.

Monkey Time stars a silly monkey and sixty minutes, and it is perfect for fans of Mo Willems’s Waiting Is Not Easy! and anyone learning about how time passes. Look for surprises in the pictures on every page!

Meet monkey. Monkey is very curious about the brightly colored—and very tasty-looking—minutes on the minute tree in his forest. But can he catch one before it disappears?

Playful, educational, and entertaining, this brightly illustrated book reinforces simple counting skills while introducing children to basic concepts about time, how time passes, and how time is measured. With illustrations full of engaging animals and a call-and-response text, and loads of rhythm, repetition, and humor, this is a great choice for family and story-time sharing.

Includes three pages of facts reinforcing the math concepts and describing the rainforest friends introduced in the story.


Wonderfall Cover Image
By Michael Hall, Michael Hall (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062382986
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 6th, 2016

This beautiful and informative picture book follows a single tree through the fall season, from the end of summer to winter’s first snowfall. A great read-aloud for home and the classroom by the New York Times–bestselling creator of My Heart Is Like a Zoo and Red: A Crayon’s Story.

Wonderfall follows a single tree through the changing of the seasons. People, animals, and vehicles pass in front of the tree, celebrating holidays, playing in its leaves, and getting ready for winter. Fifteen combined words (thankful + fall = thankFALL, plentiful + fall = plentiFALL) underscore the themes and concepts of the season, while the main attraction—the beautiful tree—drops acorns, loses leaves, and provides food and a home for a pair of scurrying squirrels. Two full spreads at the back of the book offer additional information about the animals featured in the book, as well as the science behind squirrels, acorns, and saplings.

Book Description

In this book you will discover

1 colorful tree,

2 scurrying squirrels,

and 15 blended words

created to celebrate the wonder of fall!


Frankencrayon Cover Image
By Michael Hall, Michael Hall (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062252111
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - January 26th, 2016

About the Book

Ingenuity and surprise rule in this funny and colorful companion to Red: A Crayon’s Story written and illustrated by Michael Hall, the New York Times–bestselling creator of My Heart Is Like a Zoo.

The crayons are ready to tell the thrilling tale of Frankencrayon. The costumes are made, the roles are cast, the pages are all set—but then disaster strikes. Someone has scribbled on the page! Hideous! Horrifying! The story can’t go on! Try as they might, the crayons can’t erase the scribble, and this picture book must be canceled. Until the crayons playing the title role of Frankencrayon think of a solution, that is. Michael Hall breaks borders and invites readers behind the scenes with his irresistible, clever style and bold artwork. A book about seeing beauty in unexpected places and the magic of storytelling.


Red: A Crayon's Story Cover Image
By Michael Hall, Michael Hall (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062252074
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 3rd, 2015

Red has a bright red label, but he is, in fact, blue. His teacher tries to help him be red (let's draw strawberries!), his mother tries to help him be red by sending him out on a playdate with a yellow classmate (go draw a nice orange!), and the scissors try to help him be red by snipping his label so that he has room to breathe. But Red is miserable. He just can't be red, no matter how hard he tries! Finally, a brand-new friend offers a brand-new perspective, and Red discovers what readers have known all along. He's blue! This funny, heartwarming, colorful picture book about finding the courage to be true to your inner self can be read on multiple levels, and it offers something for everyone!


It's an Orange Aardvark! Cover Image
By Michael Hall, Michael Hall (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062252067
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - April 22nd, 2014

Cat Tale Cover Image
By Michael Hall, Michael Hall (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780061915161
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - August 28th, 2012

Perfect Square Cover Image
By Michael Hall, Michael Hall (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780061915130
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - March 29th, 2011

My Heart Is Like a Zoo Cover Image
By Michael Hall, Michael Hall (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780061915109
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - December 22nd, 2009

Event Address: 
2720 West 43rd Street
Minneapolis, MN 55410
United States