Books by Indigenous and First Nations Creators for Teen Readers

An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States for Young People (ReVisioning History for Young People #2) Cover Image
By Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, Jean Mendoza (Adapted by), Debbie Reese (Adapted by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780807049396
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Beacon Press - July 23rd, 2019

2020 American Indian Youth Literature Young Adult Honor Book

2020 Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People,selected by National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and the Children’s Book Council


Apple: (Skin to the Core) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781646140138
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Levine Querido - October 6th, 2020

National Book Award Longlist
TIME's 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2020
NPR's Best Book of 2020
Shelf Awareness's Best Books of 2020
Publishers Weekly's Big Indie Books of Fall
Amazon's Best Book of the Month
AICL Best YA Books of 2020
CSMCL Best Multicultural Children's Books of 2020

PRAISE


Code Talker: A Novel About the Navajo Marines of World War Two Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142405963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Speak - July 6th, 2006

"Readers who choose the book for the attraction of Navajo code talking and the heat of battle will come away with more than they ever expected to find."—Booklist, starred review


A Snake Falls to Earth Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781646140923
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Levine Querido - November 23rd, 2021

Longlisted for the National Book Award for Young People's Literature

★ "Two richly constructed worlds using a style that evokes the timeless feeling of listening to traditional oral storytelling. A coming-of-age story that beautifully combines tradition and technology for modern audiences."—Kirkus Reviews (starred)


Staff Pick Badge
Elatsoe Cover Image
By Darcie Little Badger, Rovina Cai (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781646140053
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Levine Querido - August 25th, 2020

A National Indie Bestseller
TIME's Best 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
An NPR Best Book of 2020
A Booklist's Top 10 First Novel for Youth
A BookPage Best Book of 2020
A CPL "Best of the Best" Book
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2020
A Buzzfeed Best YA SFF Book of 2020
A Shelf Awareness Best Book of 2020
An AICL Best YA Book of 2020
A Kirkus Best YA Book of 2020


Everything You Wanted to Know About Indians But Were Afraid to Ask: Young Readers Edition Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781646140459
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Levine Querido - April 6th, 2021

From the acclaimed Ojibwe author and professor Anton Treuer comes an essential book of questions and answers for Native and non-Native young readers alike.


Hearts Unbroken Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781536213133
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Candlewick - April 14th, 2020

Winner of an American Indian Youth Literature Award

New York Times
best-selling author Cynthia Leitich Smith turns to realistic fiction with the thoughtful story of a Native teen navigating the complicated, confusing waters of high school — and first love.


The Lesser Blessed Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781771621137
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Douglas & McIntyre - October 8th, 2016

The 20th-anniversary edition of Richard Van Camp's best-selling coming-of-age story, with a new introduction and story by the author


The Marrow Thieves Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781770864863
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Dcb - September 1st, 2017

Winner of the 2017 Governor General's Literary Award (Young People's Literature - Text)
Winner of the 2017 Kirkus Prize
Winner of the 2018 Sunburst Award
Winner of the 2018 Amy Mathers Teen Book Award
Winner of the 2018 Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit and M tis Young Adult Literature


Hunting by Stars (A Marrow Thieves Novel) (The Marrow Thieves) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419753473
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Amulet Books - October 19th, 2021

From the acclaimed author of The Marrow Thieves comes a thrilling new story about hope and survival that New York Times bestselling author Angeline Boulley called “a revelatory must-read”

Years ago, when plagues and natural disasters killed millions of people, much of the world stopped dreaming. Without dreams, people


Pemmican Wars, 1 (Girl Called Echo #1) Cover Image
By Katherena Vermette, Scott B. Henderson (Illustrator), Donovan Yaciuk (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781553796787
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Highwater Press - March 1st, 2018

Echo Desjardins, a 13-year-old M tis girl adjusting to a new home and school, is struggling with loneliness while separated from her mother. Then an ordinary day in Mr. Bee's history class turns extraordinary, and Echo's life will never be the same. During Mr.


Surviving the City, 1 Cover Image
By Tasha Spillett, Natasha Donovan (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781553797562
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Highwater Press - March 1st, 2019

Miikwan and Dez are best friends. Miikwan is Anishinaabe; Dez is Inninew. Together, the teens navigate the challenges of growing up in an urban landscape - they're so close, they even completed their Berry Fast together. However, when Dez's grandmother becomes too sick, Dez is told she can't stay with her anymore.


Walking in Two Worlds Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735269002
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Penguin Teen - September 14th, 2021

An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.


Firekeeper's Daughter Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766564
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 16th, 2021

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” —Good Morning America


What the Eagle Sees: Indigenous Stories of Rebellion and Renewal Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781773213286
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Annick Press - November 12th, 2019

There is no death. Only a change of worlds."
--Chief Seattle Seatlh], Suquamish Chief