Books by Indigenous and First Nations Creators for Teen Readers

Staff Pick Badge
Saints of the Household By Ari Tison Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780374389499
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - March 28th, 2023

Winner of the Pura Belpré Award and Walter Dean Myers Award for Young Adult Literature!

Saints of the Household is a haunting contemporary YA about an act of violence in a small-town--beautifully told by a debut Indigenous Costa Rican-American writer--that will take your breath away.


Harvest House By Cynthia Leitich Smith Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781536218602
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Candlewick - April 11th, 2023

NSK Neustadt Laureate and New York Times best-selling author Cynthia Leitich Smith delivers a thrilling cross-genre follow-up to the acclaimed Hearts Unbroken.


Warrior Girl Unearthed By Angeline Boulley Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250766588
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 2nd, 2023

An Instant New York Times bestseller!
A #1 Indies Bestseller!
A Publisher's Lunch Best YA of 2023!
An Amazon Best Book of the Year!
Winner of the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award!
A Horn Book Fanfare Title!
A BookPage Best Book of the Year!

An Indigo Teen Staff Pick of the Month!
An Indie Next Pick!


The Everlasting Road (The Floraverse) By Wab Kinew Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735269033
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Tundra Books - January 10th, 2023

The boundaries between the virtual and the real world become dangerously blurred for a young Indigenous girl in the follow-up to the YA fantasy debut Walking in Two Worlds from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.


My Good Man By Eric Gansworth Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781646141838
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Levine Querido - November 1st, 2022

BEST OF THE YEAR
Kirkus • Boston Globe

A literary tour-de-force sure to turn the coming-of-age genre on its head from Printz honoree Eric Gansworth


Brian, a 20-something reporter on the Niagara Cascade’s City Desk, is navigating life as the only Indigenous writer in the newsroom, being lumped into reporting on stereotypical stories that


Braiding Sweetgrass for Young Adults: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teachings of Plants By Robin Wall Kimmerer, Monique Gray Smith, Nicole Neidhardt (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781728458991
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Lerner Publishing Group - November 1st, 2022

Drawing from her experiences as an Indigenous scientist, botanist Robin Wall Kimmerer demonstrated how all living things--from strawberries and witch hazel to water lilies and lichen--provide us with gifts and lessons every day in her best-selling book Braiding Sweetgrass.


The Summer of Bitter and Sweet By Jen Ferguson Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063086166
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Heartdrum - May 10th, 2022

In this complex and emotionally resonant novel about a Métis girl living on the Canadian prairies, debut author Jen Ferguson serves up a powerful story about rage, secrets, and all the spectrums that make up a person—and the sweetness that can still live alongside the bitterest truth. A William C. Morris Award Honor Book and a Stonewall Award Honor Book!


Ready When You Are By Gary Lonesborough Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338749540
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: PUSH - March 1st, 2022

A remarkable YA love story between two Aboriginal boys -- one who doesn’t want to accept he’s gay, and the boy who comes to live in his house who makes him realize who he is.

It's a hot summer, and life's going all right for Jackson and his family on the Mish.


An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States for Young People (ReVisioning History for Young People #2) By Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, Jean Mendoza (Adapted by), Debbie Reese (Adapted by) Cover Image
By Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, Jean Mendoza (Adapted by), Debbie Reese (Adapted by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780807049396
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Beacon Press - July 23rd, 2019

2020 American Indian Youth Literature Young Adult Honor Book

2020 Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People,selected by National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) and the Children’s Book Council


Apple: (Skin to the Core) By Eric Gansworth Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781646142033
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Levine Querido - September 6th, 2022

NOW IN PAPERBACK!

WINNER, AMERICAN INDIAN YOUTH LITERATURE AWARD
HONOR, MICHAL L.


Staff Pick Badge
A Snake Falls to Earth: Newbery Honor Award Winner By Darcie Little Badger Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781646140923
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Levine Querido - November 23rd, 2021

Newbery Honor Winner
National Indie Bestseller
National Book Award Longlist
Minneapolis Star Tribune Best of the Year
Publishers Weekly Best of the Year
Kirkus Best the Year
Apple Best of the Year
Chicago Public Library's Best of the Best
New York Public Library's Best of the Year
Autostraddle's Best Qu


Staff Pick Badge
Elatsoe By Darcie Little Badger, Rovina Cai (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Darcie Little Badger, Rovina Cai (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781646142767
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Levine Querido - October 31st, 2023

One of TIME Magazine's Top 100 Fantasy Novels of All Time -- Now in Paperback!

Locus Award Winner—Best First Novel  

A National Indie Bestseller

Nebula Award Finalist

Lodestar Award Finalist

Ignyte Award Finalist

TIME’s Best 100 Fantasy Books of All Time

NPR Best of the Year

Book


Everything You Wanted to Know About Indians But Were Afraid to Ask: Young Readers Edition By Anton Treuer Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781646140459
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Levine Querido - April 6th, 2021

From the acclaimed Ojibwe author and professor Anton Treuer comes an essential book of questions and answers for Native and non-Native young readers alike.


Hearts Unbroken By Cynthia Leitich Smith Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781536213133
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - April 14th, 2020

Winner of an American Indian Youth Literature Award

New York Times
best-selling author Cynthia Leitich Smith turns to realistic fiction with the thoughtful story of a Native teen navigating the complicated, confusing waters of high school — and first love.


The Lesser Blessed By Richard Van Camp Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781771621137
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Douglas & McIntyre - October 8th, 2016

The 20th-anniversary edition of Richard Van Camp's best-selling coming-of-age story, with a new introduction and story by the author


The Marrow Thieves By Cherie Dimaline Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781770864863
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Dcb Young Readers - September 1st, 2017

Winner of the 2017 Governor General's Literary Award (Young People's Literature - Text)
Winner of the 2017 Kirkus Prize
Winner of the 2018 Sunburst Award
Winner of the 2018 Amy Mathers Teen Book Award
Winner of the 2018 Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit and M tis Young Adult Literature


Hunting by Stars (A Marrow Thieves Novel) (The Marrow Thieves) By Cherie Dimaline Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419753473
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Amulet Books - October 19th, 2021

From the acclaimed author of The Marrow Thieves comes a thrilling new story about hope and survival that New York Times bestselling author Angeline Boulley called “a revelatory must-read.”
 
A 2022 American Indian Library Association Youth Literature Young Adult Honor Book
 
Years ago, when plagues and natural disasters kille


Pemmican Wars (Girl Called Echo #1) By Katherena Vermette, Scott B. Henderson (Illustrator), Donovan Yaciuk (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Katherena Vermette, Scott B. Henderson (Illustrator), Donovan Yaciuk (Illustrator)
$21.95
ISBN: 9781553796787
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Highwater Press - March 1st, 2018

Echo Desjardins, a 13-year-old M tis girl adjusting to a new home and school, is struggling with loneliness while separated from her mother. Then an ordinary day in Mr. Bee's history class turns extraordinary, and Echo's life will never be the same. During Mr.


Surviving the City By Tasha Spillett, Natasha Donovan (Illustrator), Donovan Yaciuk (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Tasha Spillett, Natasha Donovan (Illustrator), Donovan Yaciuk (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781553797562
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Highwater Press - March 1st, 2019

Miikwan and Dez are best friends. Miikwan is Anishinaabe; Dez is Inninew. Together, the teens navigate the challenges of growing up in an urban landscape--they're so close, they even completed their Berry Fast together. However, when Dez's grandmother becomes too sick, Dez is told she can't stay with her anymore.


Staff Pick Badge
Walking in Two Worlds (The Floraverse) By Wab Kinew Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780735269026
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Tundra Books - October 4th, 2022

An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.


Firekeeper's Daughter By Angeline Boulley Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250866035
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Square Fish - April 25th, 2023

A PRINTZ MEDAL WINNER!
A MORRIS AWARD WINNER!
AN AMERICAN INDIAN YOUTH LITERATURE AWARD YA HONOR BOOK!

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.


What the Eagle Sees: Indigenous Stories of Rebellion and Renewal By Eldon Yellowhorn, Kathy Lowinger Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781773213286
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Annick Press - November 12th, 2019

"There is no death. Only a change of worlds."
--Chief Seattle Seatlh], Suquamish Chief