Books about Race and Justice for Middle Grade Readers

Genesis Begins Again Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481465816
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - August 18th, 2020

“Reminiscent of Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye.” —The New York Times

“One of the best books I have ever read…will live in the hearts of readers for the rest of their lives.” —Colby Sharp, founder of Nerdy Book Club

“An emotional, painful, yet still hopeful adolescent journey…one that needed


Black Brother, Black Brother Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316493802
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 3rd, 2020

From award-winning and bestselling author, Jewell Parker Rhodes comes a powerful coming-of-age story about two brothers, one who presents as white, the other as black, and the complex ways in which they are forced to navigate the world, all while training for a fencing competition.


Framed. Bullied. Disliked. But I know I can still be the best.


The Only Black Girls in Town Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316456388
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 10th, 2020

From award-winning YA author Brandy Colbert comes a debut middle-grade novel about the only two Black girls in town who discover a collection of hidden journals revealing shocking secrets of the past.

Beach-loving surfer Alberta has been the only Black girl in town for years.


Ghost Boys Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316262262
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 10th, 2019

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.

Only the living can make the world better. Live and make it better.


Blended Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781442495012
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - April 7th, 2020

Eleven-year-old Isabella’s blended family is more divided than ever in this “timely but genuine” (Publishers Weekly) story about divorce and racial identity from the award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of Out of My Mind, Sharon M.


King and the Dragonflies Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338129335
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Scholastic Press - February 4th, 2020

Winner of the 2020 National Book Award for Young People's Literature!
Winner of the 2020 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Fiction and Poetry!

In a small but turbulent Louisiana town, one boy's grief takes him beyond the bayous of his backyard, to learn that there is no right way to be yourself.

FOUR STARRED REVIEWS!
Booklist

Dough Boys Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062691828
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - August 25th, 2020

In the companion to her acclaimed So Done, Paula Chase follows best friends Simp and Rollie as their friendship is threatened by the pressures of basketball, upcoming auditions, middle school, and their growing involvement in the local drug ring.


Staff Pick Badge
Clean Getaway Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781984893000
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Yearling - January 5th, 2021

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a timely middle-grade road-trip story through landmarks of the Civil Rights movement and the map they lay for contemporary race relations.

How to Go on an Unplanned Road Trip with Your Grandma:
Grab a Suitcase: Prepacked from the big spring break trip that got CANCELLED.


A Good Kind of Trouble Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062836694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 16th, 2020

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.


This Book Is Anti-Racist: 20 Lessons on How to Wake Up, Take Action, and Do The Work Cover Image
By Tiffany Jewell, Aurelia Durand (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780711245211
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - January 7th, 2020

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Recommended by Oprah's Book Club, ESSENCE, We Need Diverse Books, ellentube, Brit + Co, PureWow, Teen Vogue, Time, New York, USA TODAY, and TODAY.com

Also available: This Book Is Anti-Racist Journal, a guided journal with more than 50 activities to support your anti-racism journey


From the Desk of Zoe Washington Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062875860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 5th, 2021

Amazon Best Book of the Month * #1 Kids Indie Next List * Parents Magazine Best Book of the Year * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of the Year * SLJ Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * Junior Library Guild Selection * Four Starred Reviews<


One Crazy Summer Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780060760908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Quill Tree Books - December 27th, 2011

In this Newbery Honor novel, New York Times bestselling author Rita Williams-Garcia tells the story of three sisters who travel to Oakland, California, in 1968 to meet the mother who abandoned them. A strong option for summer reading—take this book along on a family road trip or enjoy it at home.


The Parker Inheritance (Scholastic Gold) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545952781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - June 25th, 2019

A Coretta Scott King Author Honor and Boston Globe / Horn Book Honor winner!

"Powerful.... Johnson writes about the long shadows of the past with such ambition that any reader with a taste for mystery will appreciate the puzzle Candice and Brandon must solve." -- The New York Times Book Review


Dictionary for a Better World: Poems, Quotes, and Anecdotes from A to Z Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781541557758
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Carolrhoda Books (R) - February 4th, 2020

How can we make the world a better place? This inspiring resource for middle-grade readers is organized as a dictionary; each entry presents a word related to creating a better world, such as ally, empathy, or respect. For each word, there is a poem, a quote from an inspiring person, a personal anecdote from the authors, and a try it prompt for an activity.


Harbor Me Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525515142
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Puffin Books - April 21st, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

Jacqueline Woodson's first middle-grade novel since National Book Award winner Brown Girl Dreaming celebrates the healing that can occur when a group of students share their stories.


We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voices Cover Image
By Wade Hudson (Editor), Cheryl Willis Hudson (Editor)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525580454
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Yearling - December 31st, 2019

Fifty of the foremost diverse children's authors and illustrators--including Jason Reynolds, Jacqueline Woodson, and Kwame Alexander--share answers to the question, "In this divisive world, what shall we tell our children?" in this beautiful, full-color keepsake collection, published in partnership with Just Us Books.


What Lane? Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525518433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - April 14th, 2020

"If you are wondering how to begin confronting Anti-Black racism in your classroom, start with What Lane?"--School Library Journal: The Classroom Bookshelf

"STAY IN YOUR LANE." Stephen doesn't want to hear that--he wants to have no lane.


Brown Girl Dreaming Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147515827
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Puffin Books - October 11th, 2016

Jacqueline Woodson's National Book Award and Newbery Honor winner is a powerful memoir that tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse.

A President Obama "O" Book Club pick


Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780140384512
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Puffin Books - November 27th, 2001

The stunning repackage of a timeless Newbery Award Winner, with cover art by two-time Caldecott Honor Award winner Kadir Nelson!

With the land to hold them together, nothing can tear the Logans apart.