Mental Health Awareness Month: Chapter & Middle Grade Books

Back to books for Mental Health Awareness Month


 

The Science of Being Angry Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643750378
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - May 10th, 2022

From the acclaimed author of Hurricane Season, an unforgettable story about what makes a family, for fans of Hazel’s Theory of Evolution and Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World.
 
Eleven-year-old Joey is angry. All the time. And she doesn’t understand why.


Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School, and Other Scary Things Cover Image
By Lenore Look, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780375849305
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Yearling - May 12th, 2009

The first book in a hilarious chapter book series that tackles anxiety in a fun, kid-friendly way. Perfect for both beginning and reluctant readers, and fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid!


My Life in the Fish Tank Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534432345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Aladdin - November 2nd, 2021

From the acclaimed author of Maybe He Just Likes You and Halfway Normal comes a “compassionate…touching” (Donna Gephart, award-winning author of The Paris Project) and powerful story of learning how to grow, change, and survive.

When twelve-year-old Zinnia Manning’s older brother Gabriel is diagnosed with a mental illness, the family&rsqu


Staff Pick Badge
The Golden Hour Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316540339
Availability: Backordered
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 23rd, 2021

Kirkus's Best Middle Grade Books of 2021 Pick

From the author of The Deep & Dark Blue comes a tender graphic novel, perfect for our time, that gently explores themes of self-discovery, friendship, healing from tragedy, and hope for a better tomorrow.

Struggling with anxiety after witnessing a harrowing instance of gun


Just Roll with It: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984896995
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Graphic - December 14th, 2021

Starting middle school is hard enough when you don't know anyone; it's even harder when you're shy. A contemporary middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Guts and Real Friends about how dealing with anxiety and OCD can affect everyday life.

As long as Maggie rolls the right number, nothing can go wrong...right?
 


Zia Erases the World Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593350997
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - April 26th, 2022

"Luminous, empowering, and full of heart-healing truths, this is a novel that belongs on every shelf."Katherine Applegate, Newbery Award winning author


How to Become a Planet Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643750361
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - May 25th, 2021

Publishers Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2021
One of The Nerd Daily's “Anticipated Queer Book Releases You Can’t Miss in 2021”
One of Lambda Literary's “May’s Most Anticipated LGBTQ Literature”


“Gorgeous.” —BuzzFeed

The two most import


All the Greys on Greene Street Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780451479556
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Puffin Books - June 2nd, 2020

"A dazzling debut novel about resilience, courage, home and family."--Rebecca Stead, Newbery Award-winning author of When You Reach Me


Lily and Dunkin Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780553536775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Yearling - May 1st, 2018

NAMED  ONE OF THE BEST KIDS BOOKS OF THE YEAR by NPR  • New York Public Library • JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION • GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS


My Family Divided: One Girl's Journey of Home, Loss, and Hope Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781250308788
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Square Fish - July 16th, 2019

Diane Guerrero, the star of Orange is the New Black and Jane the Virgin, presents her personal story in this middle-grade memoir about her parents’ deportation and the nightmarish struggles of undocumented immigrants and their American children.


Guts: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780545852500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Graphix - September 17th, 2019

A true story from Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile, Sisters, Drama, and Ghosts!

Raina wakes up one night with a terrible upset stomach. Her mom has one, too, so it's probably just a bug.


Each Tiny Spark Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780451479747
Availability: Unavailable to Order
Published: Puffin Books - June 30th, 2020

From award-winning author Pablo Cartaya comes a deeply moving middle grade novel about a daughter and father finding their way back to each other in the face of their changing family and community.


Where the Watermelons Grow Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062665874
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - January 7th, 2020

Fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and A Snicker of Magic will be swept away by Cindy Baldwin’s debut middle grade about a girl coming to terms with her mother’s mental illness. An Oregon Spirit Award Honor book. 


Up for Air Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781419751424
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Amulet Paperbacks - April 13th, 2021

Dive into the paperback of this middle-grade novel about competitive swimming, changing friendships, and finding your place

Thirteen-year-old Annabelle struggles in school, no matter how hard she tries. But as soon as she dives into the pool, she’s unstoppable.


As Brave As You Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481415910
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - May 9th, 2017

Kirkus Award Finalist

Schneider Family Book Award Winner

Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book

In this “pitch-perfect contemporary novel” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), Coretta Scott King – John Steptoe Award-winning author Jason Reynolds explores multigenerational ideas about family love and bravery in the story of two


Ghost (Track #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481450164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - August 29th, 2017

A National Book Award Finalist for Young People’s Literature.
Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read.


Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first electrifying novel of the acclaimed Track series from Coretta Scott Ki


The War That Saved My Life Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780147510488
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Puffin Books - May 31st, 2016

*Newbery Honor book
*Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award 

This #1 New York Times bestseller is an exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World War II, from the acclaimed author of Fighting Words, and for fans of Fish in a Tree and Sarah, Plain and Tall.