New Arrivals: Graphic Novels for Older Readers

Back to New Arrivals


Travesía: A Migrant Girl's Cross-Border Journey/El Viaje de Una Joven Migrante Cover Image
By Michelle Gerster (As Told by), Fiona Dunnett (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781551528366
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - April 13th, 2021

This compelling young adult graphic memoir, based on real events, tells the story of Gricelda, a fifteen-year-old Mexican girl who attempts to cross the border into America with her mother and younger brother in search of a better life. Their treacherous journey, filled with both heartbreak and hope, begins in Tijuana, where they are transported from house to house by strangers.


The Spy Who Raised Me Cover Image
By Ted Anderson, Gianna Meola (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781728412917
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Graphic Universe (Tm) - April 6th, 2021

Tales from the Umbrella Academy: You Look Like Death Volume 1 Cover Image
By Gerard Way, Shaun Simon, Ian Culbard (Illustrator), Nate Piekos (Illustrator), Gabriel Ba (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781506719108
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Dark Horse Books - March 30th, 2021

The first Umbrella Academy spin off series!


Shadow Life Cover Image
By Hiromi Goto, Ann Xu (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781626723566
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: First Second - March 30th, 2021

Poet and novelist Hiromi Goto effortlessly blends wry, observational slice-of-life literary fiction with poetic magical realism in the tender and surprising graphic novel Shadow Life, with haunting art from debut artist Ann Xu.


Delicates (Sheets #2) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781620107881
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Oni Press - March 23rd, 2021

"An original exploration of what it means to be seen and accepted." — Kirkus

Following the events of the bestselling graphic novel, Sheets, Delicates brings Brenna Thummler’s beloved characters, artwork, and charm back to life.

Marjorie Glatt’s life hasn’t been the same ever since she discovered a group of ghosts hiding in her f


What Unites Us: The Graphic Novel (World Citizen Comics) Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250239945
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: First Second - March 9th, 2021

In this graphic novel adaptation of his bestselling collection of essays, legendary news anchor Dan Rather provides a voice of reason and explores what it means to be a true patriot.


The Crossroads at Midnight Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781945820687
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Iron Circus Comics - February 23rd, 2021

Unsettling in the best way. -- KIRKUS, Starred Review

Wonderfully terrifying. -- PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, Starred Review

Gets under your skin. -- GEEK MOM

Striking drawings and suspenseful storytelling. -- io9


Savor Cover Image
By Neil Kleid, John Broglia (Illustrator), Frank Reynoso (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781506715186
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Dark Horse Books - January 26th, 2021

An adventuring chef must face five deadly restaurants, assemble the ultimate knife, and defeat a band of pirate cooks to save her island and the woman she loves.


The Black Panther Party: A Graphic Novel History Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781984857705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Ten Speed Press - January 19th, 2021

A bold and fascinating graphic novel history of the revolutionary Black Panther Party.


The Books of Magic 30th Anniversary Edition Cover Image
By Neil Gaiman, John Bolton (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781779502315
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: DC Comics - November 26th, 2019

The New York Times best-selling writer Neil Gaiman weaves a mesmerizing tale of the dangers and possibilities of youth in THE BOOKS OF MAGIC, illustrated by the acclaimed artists John Bolton, Scott Hampton, Charles Vess, and Paul Johnson.

"What are you proposing that we do?"


Heartstopper: Volume 2 Cover Image
By Alice Oseman, Alice Oseman (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338617474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Graphix - November 10th, 2020

The second book in the delightfully sweet Heartstopper series, featuring beautiful two-color artwork!

Nick and Charlie are best friends, but one spontaneous kiss has changed everything. In the aftermath, Charlie thinks that he's made a horrible mistake and ruined his friendship with Nick, but Nick is more confused than ever.

Love works in surprising ways, and Nick comes to see the world from a new perspective. He discovers all sorts of things about his friends, his family... and himself.


We Saw Scenery: The Early Diaries of Merrill Markoe Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781616209032
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Algonquin Books - October 13th, 2020

“Merrill Markoe got all the talent. In addition to being an Emmy-award winning comedy writer, she's also a top-notch artist. We Saw Scenery is revealing, sad, funny, and, above all, relatable. Merrill captures the experience of a young woman finding—and holding onto—her own voice.


Staff Pick Badge
The Magic Fish Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9780593125298
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Random House Graphic - October 13th, 2020

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR by the New York Public Library • Kirkus Reviews • Booklist • Publishers Weekly


Welcome to the New World Cover Image
By Jake Halpern, Michael Sloan (Illustrator)
$21.99
ISBN: 9781250305596
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Metropolitan Books - September 22nd, 2020

Now in a full-length book, the New York Times Pulitzer Prize–winning graphic story of a refugee family who fled the civil war in Syria to make a new life in America


The Contradictions Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781770464070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - September 8th, 2020

The Eisner Award–winning story about a student figuring out radical politics in a messy world


Ichiro Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358238409
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Etch/HMH Books for Young Readers - September 22nd, 2020

Exploring themes of grief, masculinity, and belonging, Ryan Inzana’s award-winning work is perfect for fans of Hey, Kiddo, American Born Chinese, and Tilly Walden.

Eisner Nominee · Asian/Pacific American Young Adult Literature Honor

Raised by his Japanese mother, Ichiro idolizes his dead American father, and struggles to f


Flamer Cover Image
By Mike Curato, Mike Curato (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250756145
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks - September 1st, 2020

Award-winning author and artist Mike Curato draws on his own experiences in Flamer, his debut graphic novel, telling a difficult story with humor, compassion, and love.

"This book will save lives." —Jarrett J. Krosoczka, author of National Book Award Finalist Hey, Kiddo


Ever After Cover Image
By Olivia Vieweg, Olivia Vieweg (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728412924
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Graphic Universe (Tm) - September 1st, 2020

Vivi and Eva are two travelers in a countryside filled with the undead. The survivors of their world live behind barricades--and live in fear of the next attack.


Displacement Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250193537
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: First Second - August 18th, 2020

A teenager is pulled back in time to witness her grandmother's experiences in World War II-era Japanese internment camps in Displacement, a historical graphic novel from Kiku Hughes.