Sheila O'Connor

Saturday, April 7th, 2PM

Wild Rumpus welcomes back Minnesota Book Award winner Sheila O'Connor. Sheila will discuss her new book (which we happen to adore), Until Tomorrow, Mr. Marsworth.


“Set during the summer of 1968, a profound relationship develops between Mr. Marsworth, an elderly recluse (and draft dodger), and Reenie Kelly, the young girl who delivers his newspaper. Reenie is trying to save her old brother from being drafted, and through written correspondence seeks Mr. Marsworth's help. There are numerous threads to this story, stunning secrets revealed, and various perspectives on the Vietnam War represented. All of the characters are well-drawn, distinct, and memorable, plus there are very provocative, discussion-worthy themes.”
— Mark Adam, Mrs. Nelson's Book Fair Company, Pomona, CA

 

Date: 
Saturday, 7 April 2018 - 2:00pm
Books: 
Until Tomorrow, Mr. Marsworth Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780399161933
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - April 3rd, 2018

Set against the backdrop of the Vietnam War, one young girl is determined to save her brother from the draft--and gets help from an unlikely source--in this middle-grade tale, perfect for fans of The Wednesday Wars

 

When eleven-year-old Reenie Kelly's mother passes away, she and her brothers are shipped off to live with their grandmother. Adjusting to life in her parents' Midwestern hometown isn't easy, but once Reenie takes up a paper route with her older brother Dare, she has something she can look forward to. As they introduce themselves to every home on their route, Reenie's stumped by just one--the house belonging to Mr. Marsworth, the town recluse. When he doesn't answer his doorbell, Reenie begins to leave him letters. Slowly, the two become pen pals, striking up the most unlikely of friendships.

 

Through their letters, Reenie tells of her older brother Billy, who might enlist to fight in the Vietnam War. Reenie is desperate to stop him, and when Mr. Marsworth hears this, he knows he can't stand idly by. As a staunch pacifist, Mr. Marsworth offers to help Reenie. Together, they concoct a plan to keep Billy home, though Reenie doesn't know Mr. Marsworth's dedication to her cause goes far beyond his antiwar beliefs.

 

In this heartwarming piece of historical fiction, critically acclaimed author Sheila O'Connor delivers a tale of devotion, sacrifice, and family.


Sparrow Road Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780142421369
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Puffin Books - May 10th, 2012

A perfect summer read set in a mysterious artists' estate in the idyllic Midwestern countryside


Keeping Safe the Stars Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780142427583
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Puffin Books - March 6th, 2014

When crisis hits, a young girl becomes the only one left to take care of her family

Pride, Nightingale and Baby are the Stars. Orphaned and living with their grandfather, Old Finn, in rural Minnesota, the children, like their grandfather, are wary of outsiders. They believe, as Old Finn taught them, in self-reliance.


Event Address: 
2720 West 43rd Street
Minneapolis, MN 55410
United States