Twisty! Picture Books with a Surprise at the End

You think a story is heading one way, but can you really know how it will end? There's nothing better than a piece of information that retroactively changes your impression of the entire journey. Enjoy!

Recommendations from Kara

Back to Rumpus Recommends


 

My Cat Looks Like My Dad Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781771473514
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Owlkids - April 15th, 2019

New from the creator of Wallpaper and Skunk on a String comes a witty and uplifting picture book that will speak to families of all varieties about how family really is what you make it.


Small in the City Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823442614
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Neal Porter Books - September 3rd, 2019

It can be a little scary to be small in a big city, but this child has some good advice for a very special friend in need.

Winner of the Ezra Jack Keats Award
A New York Times/New York Public Library Best Illustrated Book of the Year
Winner of the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal


Staff Pick Badge
Mel Fell Cover Image
By Corey R. Tabor, Corey R. Tabor (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062878014
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 2nd, 2021

A charming and innovative tale about a plucky little bird, from the award-winning author-illustrator of Fox the Tiger.

Readers will delight in turning their book sideways and upside down to follow Mel on her journey from downward fall to triumphant flight in this tale of self-confidence and taking a leap of faith.


Spencer's New Pet Cover Image
By Jessie Sima, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534418776
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 27th, 2019

From the creator of Not Quite Narwhal comes a classic tale of a boy and his dog—except in this unique story, one of them is a balloon!

When Spencer gets a new pet, he’s excited to do all the things that pets do—taking walks in the park, going to the vet, and attending parties together.

There’s just one hitch: Spencer’s new pet is a balloon


A Hungry Lion, or A Dwindling Assortment of Animals Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481448895
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - March 15th, 2016

“So smart and so cute and so dark all at the same time.


The Bear Ate Your Sandwich Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781984852090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Dragonfly Books - December 11th, 2018

Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . A sly classic-in-the-making for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems.
 
By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich.
But you may not know how it happened.
So let me tell you.
It all started with the bear . . .
 


Professional Crocodile: (Wordless Kids Books, Alligator Children's Books, Early Elemetary Story Books ) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781452165066
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - August 1st, 2017

Mr. Crocodile loves his job. Every morning he gets up with an alarm. He brushes his teeth. He chooses the right tie to match his outfit, eats a quick slice of toast, and heads off to work on a crowded train. But what exactly is his job? The answer may surprise you! Readers will want to pore over this witty, wordless book again and again, finding new details and fresh stories with every reading.


The Little Barbarian Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802855091
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Eerdmans Books for Young Readers - August 21st, 2018

A wordless picture book that captures the imagination

Being a barbarian is no easy task. A barbarian must be able to survive an army of one-eyed giants or a pit of venomous snakes. He must bravely fight off manticores, dragons, and sea serpents. Luckily, a barbarian can always rely on his trusty steed to see him through any peril.


I Want My Hat Back Cover Image
By Jon Klassen, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763655983
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Candlewick - September 27th, 2011

New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book of 2011!

A picture-book delight by a rising talent tells a cumulative tale with a mischievous twist.


After the Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again) Cover Image
By Dan Santat, Dan Santat (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626726826
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Roaring Brook Press - October 3rd, 2017

From the New York Times–bestselling creator of The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend comes the inspiring epilogue to the beloved classic nursery rhyme Humpty Dumpty.

Everyone knows that when Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall, Humpty Dumpty had a great fall. But what happened after?