Books about the White House and the President

An inspiring and informative book for kids about the past and future of America's presidents.

Who will be the NEXT president? Could it be you? When George Washington became the first president of the United States, there were nine future presidents already alive in America, doing things like practicing law or studying medicine.


Exploring the White House: Inside America's Most Famous Home Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062906410
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - December 8th, 2020

#1 New York Times bestselling author Kate Andersen Brower shares a special inside look into the most famous home in America—and the lives of hardworking staff members and first ladies who’ve maintained it.


Where Is the White House? (Where Is?) Cover Image
By Megan Stine, Who HQ, David Groff (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9780448483559
Availability: Unavailable to Order
Published: Penguin Workshop - February 5th, 2015

The history of the White House, first completed in 1799, reflects the history of America itself. It was the dream of George Washington to have an elegant "presidential mansion" in the capital city that was named after him. Yet he is the only president who never got to live there. All the rest have made their mark--for better or worse--on the house at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue.


Sofia Valdez, Future Prez (The Questioneers) Cover Image
By Andrea Beaty, David Roberts (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419737046
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Harry N. Abrams - November 5th, 2019

If You Want a Friend in Washington: Wacky, Wild & Wonderful Presidential Pets Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593122693
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Schwartz & Wade - July 7th, 2020

A clever, funny, and informative look at the pets--from Calvin Coolidge's wallaby to Teddy Roosevelt's flying squirrels--that have passed through the White House gates. Perfect for fans of I Am George Washington and So You Want to Be President?


Grace for President (Grace Series #1) Cover Image
By Kelly DiPucchio, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781423139997
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2012

A fresh, fun, and "thought-provoking" New York Times bestseller about the American electoral college and why every vote counts from bestselling and award-winning duo Kelly DiPucchio and LeUyen Pham.

"Where are the girls?"