Books Set in Puerto Rico

Beauty Woke By NoNieqa Ramos, Paola Escobar (Illustrator) Cover Image
By NoNieqa Ramos, Paola Escobar (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358008415
Availability: Backordered
Published: Versify - February 15th, 2022

Beauty Woke is a powerful story of pride and community, told with bold lyricism and the heart of a fairy tale, and readers looking for a next-generation Sleeping Beauty will fall in love with the vivid art and lyrical text.


Vámonos: San Juan By Patty Rodriguez, Ariana Stein, Ana Godinez (Illustrator) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781947971509
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Lil' Libros - September 22nd, 2020

Teach your baby about San Juan, the capital and largest city in the island of Puerto Rico through illustrations and words that will teach them about the world in English and Spanish.

Let's take a trip around the world with VAMONOS. In this colorful new series by Lil' Libros, each book celebrates the sights, sounds, and people of a different city both in English and Spanish. With simple text by Patty Rodriguez and Ariana Stein, and colorful illustrations by Lil' Libros' very own Ana Godinez, each book will have your little ones celebrating the world, fostering empathy, and seeing that there are a million ways to live on this planet


The Life of / La Vida de Walter By Patty Rodriguez, Ariana Stein, Citlali Reyes (Illustrator) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781947971547
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Lil' Libros - September 22nd, 2020

Introduce little ones to the life of a cherished icon, Walter Mercado, in both English and Spanish

Walter was a Puerto Rican astrologer, actor, dancer, and writer, best known as a television personality for his shows on daily astrology.

Patty Rodriguez is the co-founder of Lil' Libros, a publisher of bilingual children's books and co-author of more than 15 books celebrating the Latino-American experience in this country. Her work has been featured in the New York Times, Washington Post, Time, and Rolling Stone magazine. You can also listen to Patty every morning in Los Angeles on the On Air with Ryan Seacrest nationally syndicated radio show. She lives in Los Angeles, California.

Ariana Stein is the co-founder of Lil' Libros, a Los Angeles-based publisher that celebrates bilingualism and Latin American culture. Since 2014, she has co-authored a variety of first concept children's books. She has been featured in the Los Angeles Times, Forbes, CNN, KTLA, and more.

Citlali Reyes, born and raised in Mexico, loved to doodle as a child. It was after studying architecture that she was drawn toward the enchanting world of illustration and chose to become an illustrator full-time. Citlali enjoys telling stories through pictures, and her work is strongly influenced by the culture and vibrant colors of her country. She has partnered with Lil' Libros to illustrate more than 15 popular bilingual picture books for children in their board book collection.


Across the Bay By Carlos Aponte, Carlos Aponte (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Carlos Aponte, Carlos Aponte (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524786625
Availability: Unavailable to Order
Published: Penguin Workshop - September 17th, 2019

RECIPIENT OF THE PURA BELPRÉ ILLUSTRATOR HONOR

Author-illustrator Carlos Aponte takes readers on a journey to the heart of Puerto Rico in this enchanting picture book set in Old San Juan.


"A lively and honest story about filling voids and exploring what defines a family--as well as a love letter to a childhood home."--Horn Book

Carlitos lives in a happy home with his mother, his abuela, and Coco the cat. Life in his hometown is cozy as can be, but the call of the capital city pulls Carlitos across the bay in search of his father. Jolly piragüeros, mischievous cats, and costumed musicians color this tale of love, family, and the true meaning of home.


Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré By Anika Aldamuy Denise, Paola Escobar (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062748683
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 15th, 2019

An inspiring picture book biography of storyteller, puppeteer, and New York City’s first Puerto Rican librarian, who championed bilingual literature.

When she came to America in 1921, Pura Belpré carried the cuentos folklóricos of her Puerto Rican homeland. Finding a new home at the New York Public Library as a bilingual assistant, she turned her popular retellings into libros and spread story seeds across the land. Today, these seeds have grown into a lush landscape as generations of children and storytellers continue to share her tales and celebrate Pura’s legacy.

Brought to colorful life by Paola Escobar’s elegant and exuberant illustrations and Anika Aldamuy Denise’s lyrical text, this gorgeous book is perfect for the pioneers in your life.

Informative backmatter and suggested further reading included.

A Spanish-language edition, Sembrando historias: Pura Belpré: bibliotecaria y narradora de cuentos, is also available.


A Girl Named Rosita: The Story of Rita Moreno: Actor, Singer, Dancer, Trailblazer! By Anika Aldamuy Denise, Leo Espinosa (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062877703
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - November 3rd, 2020

Pura Belpré Honor winner Anika Aldamuy Denise (Planting Stories) and New York Times bestselling illustrator Leo Espinosa (Islandborn) tell the story of Rita Moreno, the Puerto Rican superstar best known for her Oscar-winning performance in the original West Side Story film, in this gorgeous picture book biography.

When young Rosita moved from Puerto Rico to the mainland United States, she didn’t know what to expect—but she knew she loved to sing and dance. Working to overcome the language barrier and bullying she experienced in a strange new country, Rita eventually made her way to Hollywood with a dream to be a star. There, she fought to be seen and heard and eventually reached the pinnacle of success, landing her iconic role in West Side Story and, finally, winning her groundbreaking Oscar.

Brought to life by Leo Espinosa’s bold and vibrant illustrations and Anika Aldamuy Denise’s lyrical text, this gorgeous tribute to the life and career of the first Latinx person to have earned an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and Tony award will inspire little dreamers everywhere.

Informative author’s note and timeline also included.

A Spanish-language edition is also available.


Puerto Rico Strong By Hazel Newlevant Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781941302903
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Oni Press - March 27th, 2018

Puerto Rico Strong is a comics anthology that explores what it means to be Puerto Rican and the diversity that exists within that concept, from today's most exciting Puerto Rican comics creators.

Despite being a US territory, Puerto Rico is often thought of as a foreign land, if it’s even a thought in the mind of the average American at all. Its people exist in all corners of America; some of them have parents who immigrated from the home island, others are a part of families that have been on the mainland for generations. Then there are those who have come to the states in search of a dream but struggle to integrate into an unfamiliar culture, while there are those who have lived in the United States all of their lives but still have the same struggle because of the color of their skin or their sexual identity.

These stories follow individuals from diverse walks of life but are all part of the culture that is Puerto Rico.Puerto Rico Strong features art and writing by Rosa Colon, Vita Ayala, Naomi Franquiz, Javier Cruz Winnik, Sabrina Cintron, Ronnie Garcia, Fabian Nicieza, Joamette Gil, and many more!

All profits will go to towards disaster relief and recovery programs to support Puerto Rico. 


When I Was Puerto Rican: A Memoir (A Merloyd Lawrence Book) By Esmeralda Santiago Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780306814525
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Da Capo Press - February 28th, 2006

One of "The Best Memoirs of a Generation" (Oprah's Book Club): a young woman's journey from the mango groves and barrios of Puerto Rico to Brooklyn, and eventually on to Harvard

In a childhood full of tropical beauty and domestic strife, poverty and tenderness, Esmeralda Santiago learned the proper way to eat a guava, the sound of tree frogs, the taste of morcilla, and the formula for ushering a dead baby's soul to heaven. But when her mother, Mami, a force of nature, takes off to New York with her seven, soon to be eleven children, Esmeralda, the oldest, must learn new rules, a new language, and eventually a new identity. In the first of her three acclaimed memoirs, Esmeralda brilliantly recreates her tremendous journey from the idyllic landscape and tumultuous family life of her earliest years, to translating for her mother at the welfare office, and to high honors at Harvard.


Café Con Lychee By Emery Lee Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063210271
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 10th, 2022

From the author of Meet Cute Diary comes a delectable rom-com that’s brimming with zest and a sprinkle of sweetness. A must-read for fans of Casey McQuiston and Julian Winters.


When We Make It: A Nuyorican Novel By Elisabet Velasquez Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780593324509
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - August 30th, 2022

"The energy. The clarity. The beauty. Elisabet Velasquez brings it all. . . . Her voice is FIRE!"—NYT bestselling and award-winning author Jacqueline Woodson
 
An unforgettable, torrential, and hopeful debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to "make it,” for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo.