Socially-Conscious Realistic Fiction for YA Readers

Recommendations from Linda


Light It Up Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250128898
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - October 22nd, 2019

Told in a series of vignettes from multiple viewpoints, Kekla Magoon's Light It Up is a powerful, layered story about injustice and strength—as well as an incredible follow-up to the highly acclaimed novel How It Went Down.

A girl walks home from school. She's tall for her age. She's wearing her winter coat. Her headphones are in. She's hurrying.


This Time Will Be Different Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062473455
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - June 9th, 2020

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book * A 2020 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection

For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon, critically acclaimed author Misa Sugiura delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about family, community, and the importance of writing your own history.


Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338343700
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - October 1st, 2019

A young adult anthology featuring fictional stories of everyday resistance.

You might be the kind of person who stands up to online trolls.
Or who marches to protest injustice.

Perhaps you are #DisabledAndCute and dancing around your living room, alive and proud.

Or perhaps you are the trans mentor that you wish you had when you were younger.


Juliet Takes a Breath Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593108178
Availability: Backordered
Published: Dial Books - September 17th, 2019

A People magazine Best Book of Fall 2019
An Amazon Best Young Adult Book of 2019
"F***ing outstanding."--Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling author