Beginning Readers

Back to Staff Picks


Snail and Worm All Day: Three Stories About Two Friends Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358063643
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 24th, 2019

Spare, simple language makes this book perfect for newly independent readers, without skimping on quality content. These three stories follow Snail and Worm throughout the course of a day, with dialogue characterized by delightfully droll humor. Together, Snail and Worm celebrate their friends' successes, save a turtle from itself, and write their own bedtime story. Kügler’s illustrations perfectly complement each hilarious story and establish Snail and Worm as genuinely genial and kind creatures.

Kara


Nina Soni, Former Best Friend Cover Image
By Kashmira Sheth, Jenn Kocsmiersky (Illustrator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781682630570
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Peachtree Publishing Company - October 1st, 2019

This book bridges the gap between beginning readers and intermediate books in a fun and refreshing way. Throughout the first person narration about Nina Soni’s life there are snippets of her notebooks interspersed: definitions, lists, and sometimes even drawings. These help burgeoning readers see that although Nina might not think there’s much interesting happening in her life, her mind contains multitudes, just like theirs!

Linda


Penny and Her Sled Cover Image
By Kevin Henkes, Kevin Henkes (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062934536
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - October 29th, 2019

Waiting is hard. Penny, a sweet and creative mouse, learns this lesson when she gets a new sled and has to wait for the snow to fall. Day after day, she looks out her window and wishes for the surrounding hills to turn white, but will the snow ever come? Penny can’t control the weather, but she can use her imagination and transform her sled into all sorts of wonderful things. Penny and Her Sled is the fourth in a series and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad and Little Bear.
 
Karlyn


Do You Like My Bike?: An Acorn Book (Hello, Hedgehog! #1) Cover Image
By Norm Feuti, Norm Feuti (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9781338281385
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 30th, 2019

Meet best friends Hedgehog and Harry. Hedgehog is bold while Harry tends to be more cautious, but they have one very important thing in common: they love to have fun together! In the first two books of this hilarious and heartfelt new series, Hedgehog and Harry undertake such new adventures as learning how to ride a bike and embarking on their first sleepover. Follow along as Hedgehog and Harry figure out how to balance their two personalities for the maximum level of fun and friendship.

Claire


Douglas Cover Image
By Randy Cecil, Randy Cecil (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780763633974
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Candlewick - September 10th, 2019

Prepare yourself for an adventure story to rival any action movie out there. Join Douglas, our daring hero, on her journey across town to the movie theater she calls home. Watch as she leaps through open windows. Gasp when she narrowly avoids a swinging broom. Hold your breath while she swings perilously from a clothesline. Douglas will keep you on the edge of your seat. And leave you wanting popcorn.

Anna


Meet Yasmin! Cover Image
By Saadia Faruqi, Hatem Aly (Illustrator)
$5.95
ISBN: 9781684360222
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Picture Window Books - August 1st, 2018

Meet your new favorite second grader! Whether she’s visiting the farmer’s market with her mama or creating a fashion show with her nani, Yasmin is an adventurer
and a problem solver. Hatem Aly’s lively illustrations perfectly capture Yasmin’s exuberant personality at school and at home with her family. Be sure to add this
charmer to your beginning reader’s bookshelf!

Katie


Stories of the Night Cover Image
By Kitty Crowther, Kitty Crowther (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781776571970
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Gecko Press - September 1st, 2018

“Choose a star to lead you into tomorrow,” Mother Bear whispers. But first Little Bear asks please, please, please for her to tell the three stories—their bedtime
ritual. In the gloaming, an exquisite pink hue is cast over a nacreous fairy tale forest. The Night Guardian with her gong in hand, Zhora, the little girl with a sword,
and Bo, the man in the big coat, are stars of their own cozy tales rendered with a dreamy moiré effect. Snuggle in with a bedtime book for the ages.

Jesse


Ivy and Bean One Big Happy Family (Book 11) Cover Image
By Annie Barrows, Sophie Blackall (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781452169101
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Chronicle Books - March 17th, 2020

After a dreadfully long five-year hiatus, Ivy and Bean are back! When Ivy is convinced that she must be spoiled (as are all only children, according to a classmate), she takes steps to become unspoiled. Giving away all of her
clothes and her best headband just gets her in trouble, and she’s not ready to part with her toys, so there’s only one solution: a baby sister! Hilarious attempts to procure one make for an entertaining story for both new readers and the adults in their lives.

Drew


Good Rosie! Cover Image
By Kate DiCamillo, Harry Bliss (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763689797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Candlewick - September 4th, 2018

Rosie and George live a charmed life, measured out in poached eggs (George) and kibble in a big silver bowl (Rosie). When George goes out on a limb and proposes
“something new,” it means the dog park. Rosie is in turns slightly afraid, slightly growly, incredibly plucky, then a bit encouraged towards friendly cooperation as
she learns how to make friends and have a great time in the dog park. Spare language and exquisite cartoon panels propel the nine chapters, perfect for an emerging reader. BTW, George might make a friend or two as well. You be the judge.

Collette

 


Dragons and Marshmallows (Zoey and Sassafras #1) Cover Image
By Asia Citro, Marion Lindsay (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781943147090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Innovation Press - March 14th, 2017

Until now, Zoey had no idea she could see magical creatures or that her scientist mother could see them too; not only this, the barn in their backyard is where these creatures come to when they need a helping hand. Zoey and Sassafras are witty, critical thinkers who encourage curiosity, compassion and problem-solving, spreading wonder for the natural and scientific worlds right from their own backyard.

Beth


Dog Man: From the Creator of Captain Underpants (Dog Man #1) Cover Image
By Dav Pilkey, Dav Pilkey (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780545581608
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Graphix - August 30th, 2016

Dav Pilkey is at it again in Dog Man, a comic written by his fictional characters George and Harold. Dog Man is a police officer with the head of a dog who fights crime and gets dog hair all over the chief’s couch. The mom in me cringes at the potty humor that was characteristic of the Captain Underpants series, but my kids have read this book fifteen times and vouch that it is hysterical and awesome. Pilkey is a master at creating books that get kids excited about reading. 

Kristen


Book Uncle and Me Cover Image
By Uma Krishnaswami, Julianna Swaney (Illustrator)
$8.95
ISBN: 9781554988099
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Groundwood Books - August 7th, 2018

“Right book for the right person for the right day”. So goes the motto of Book Uncle, a retired teacher in India who daily offers free books from his stand to the community. Young Yasmin can’t get enough and aspires to read a book a day, so when a governmental notice forces Book Uncle to leave his corner Yasmin decides to do something. Yasmin’s introduction to community activism, local elections and organizing is relevant and endearing, and will leave our youngest book lovers with a sense of how they, too, can make a difference.

Kristen


Lucy Cover Image
By Randy Cecil, Randy Cecil (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780763668082
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Candlewick - August 2nd, 2016

A little white dog (Lucy) roams the streets, always in search of food and shelter, revisiting her former life only in dreams. A little girl (Eleanor) notices the dog and dreams of befriending her. The girl’s father (Sam) juggles brilliantly at home, but cannot get past his stage fright to complete a public performance. Told in four ‘acts’, the story unfolds gracefully and ends with all parties getting their fondest wish in a perfect storm of magic and memory.

Collette


The Infamous Ratsos Cover Image
By Kara LaReau, Matt Myers (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9780763698751
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - September 12th, 2017

Brothers Louie and Ralph Ratso hear from their dad Big Lou that there are two types of people in the world, the toughies and the softies. They want to be toughies like their dad, so they spend their time trying to impress him-taking someone’s hat, making a gross sandwich for the new girl at school, and soaping up the window of the mean lady next door. But all of their tough moves end up unexpectedly helping the people involved, and the brothers find that being kind and helpful isn’t just for the softies.

Kristen 


Flop to the Top!: Toon Level 3 (Toon Books) Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781935179894
Availability: Usually Ships from Wholesaler in 1-5 Days
Published: Toon Books - September 8th, 2015

 Being a superstar isn’t as easy as it seems! Wanda loves to take selfies and stay up on the latest celebrity gossip, but when her favorite canine companion, Wilbur, suddenly becomes the next big thing, Wanda doesn’t know what to do! That’s when Wanda sets off on a zany adventure to win Wilbur back, wonderfully rendered by Eleanor Davis and Drew Weing. Although the story often verges on silliness, Davis and Weing never lose the emotional core of the story about a girl and her best friend. A great comic to inspire beginning readers in any family! 

Toffer


Bradford Street Buddies: Block Party Surprise (Green Light Readers Level 3) Cover Image
By Jerdine Nolen, Michelle Henninger (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9780544358638
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2015

This new series follows four friends on imaginative outings in their neighborhood. Whether preparing robotic dinosaurs for a block party or finding their parents’ old tent in the garage, the Bradford Street Buddies try to find the best in the situation. The tension and anticipation builds in each story through age appropriate conflict with whimsical details that mirror a child’s sense of wonder. A highly enjoyable series for beginning readers! 

Toffer