Summer Spine Crackers (teen book club)

Summer Spine Crackers is a monthly summer book club for rising 7th graders up through high school. We want to dive into books of all genres that are perfect for a day at the beach or a late stormy night. Come talk books with us (with a snack or two)!
 
Our next meeting will be on Sunday, August 12 at 5:30PM. We will discuss Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor.
 
If you are interested in joining us, contact Hannah or Beth by calling (612-920-5005) or emailing (info@wildrumpusbooks.com) the store.
 

Akata Witch Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780142420911
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - July 11th, 2017

"Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things." -- Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods

 

Affectionately dubbed "the Nigerian Harry Potter," Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone

 

Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she's albino. She's a terrific athlete, but can't go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing--she is a "free agent" with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do.
Soon she's part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she's finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?
World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called "stunning" by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more.


And Then There Were None Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062073488
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - March 29th, 2011

A PBS Great American Read Top 100 Pick

One of the most famous and beloved mysteries from The Queen of Suspense—Agatha Christie.

"Ten . . ."
Ten strangers are lured to an isolated island mansion off the Devon coast by a mysterious "U. N. Owen."

"Nine . . ."
At dinner a recorded message accuses each of them in turn of having a guilty secret, and by the end of the night one of the guests is dead.

"Eight . . ."
Stranded by a violent storm, and haunted by a nursery rhyme counting down one by one . . . as one by one . . . they begin to die.

"Seven . . ."
Which among them is the killer and will any of them survive?