Tail Time

Stories and songs for the wee . . .

     every Monday from 10:30-11:00AM

          . . . guaranteed NOT to put you to sleep!

All are welcome! (That said, Tail Time is primarily geared towards the toddler and pre-schooler set.)

**Join us on Monday, December 16 at 10:30AM for a special Tail Time with guest Elizabeth Verdick, author of Small Walt and Mo the Tow!**

Tail Time is often busy, so if you are with a large group, please call us to schedule a time just for you. You will get a brief tour of the store and your very own story! We ask that you do not come during Tail Time, for our sanity and yours.

Looking for a book from a past Tail Time? Find all of the books that have been read over the past month here!

Date: 
Monday, 2 December 2019 - 10:30am
Monday, 9 December 2019 - 10:30am
Monday, 16 December 2019 - 10:30am
Monday, 23 December 2019 - 10:30am
Monday, 30 December 2019 - 10:30am
Monday, 6 January 2020 - 10:30am
Monday, 13 January 2020 - 10:30am
Monday, 20 January 2020 - 10:30am
Monday, 27 January 2020 - 10:30am
Monday, 3 February 2020 - 10:30am
Books: 
Small Walt and Mo the Tow Cover Image
By Elizabeth Verdick, Marc Rosenthal (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481466608
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - October 30th, 2018

“Rosenthal’s drawings feel like a contemporary take on [Virginia Lee] Burton’s spirit.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Children ages 3–7 will rejoice as in Marc Rosenthal’s retro illustrations the little plow surges into action, rays of purposeful energy shooting off his red chassis.” —The Wall Street Journal

“Delightful, retro artwork and clever text offer another tribute to teamwork and friendship…Three dynamic duos: Gus and Walt; Sue and Mo; Verdick and Rosenthal.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Small Walt befriends a tow truck when he comes across a car in need of help in this irresistible companion to Small Walt, which Kirkus Reviews called “charming and endearing” in a starred review.

We’re Gus and Walt
We plow and we salt
We clear the snow so the
Cars can go!

A bitter blizzard. A snowbound town. When a car skids off the road, Small Walt and Gus might not have what it takes to save the day on their own. But who does? Mo the Tow to the rescue!

When we need a tow,
We call on Mo…
We can depend
On our new friend!


Text filled with onomatopoeia and Walt’s affirming chants make this story about friendship and accepting help from others a real winner.


Small Walt Cover Image
By Elizabeth Verdick, Marc Rosenthal (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481448451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - October 31st, 2017

“It’s a perfect book for revving up small helpers to pitch in with the shoveling.”—The Wall Street Journal

“Charming and endearing.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“The grit of The Little Engine that Could, the nostalgic illustrations of Katy and the Big Snow, and a touch of modernity from an accomplished author and illustrator, combine to become Small Walt.” —School Library Journal

A tiny snowplow determined to prove his worth battles a blizzard in this supremely charming story in the tradition of Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel and The Little Engine that Could.

My name is Walt,
I plow and I salt.
They say I’m small,
but I’ll show them all.


Small Walt and his driver, Gus, take on a blizzard! All the bigger snowplows doubt that Walt has what it takes to plow the roads in the storm, but Walt is determined to prove them wrong.

Brimming with onomatopoeia and Walt’s affirming chants, this sweet picture book shows that when it comes to strength, size doesn’t matter. Bestselling illustrator Marc Rosenthal’s wintry scenes make this book the perfect cozy read-aloud.


Event Address: 
2720 West 43rd Street
Minneapolis, MN 55410
United States