Elizabeth Verdick

Saturday, January 19, 11AM

Our favorite snowplow is back for another wintery adventure in Small Walt and Mo the Tow! Join Minnesota author Elizabeth Verdick for a special story time featuring Small Walt, Gus, and Mo.

 


Elizabeth Verdick has written more than thirty books for toddlers to teens. She collaborated with Marc Rosenthal on Small Walt, which Kirkus Reviews called “reminiscent of Virginia Burton’s classics” in a starred review, and its sequel, Small Walt and Mo the Tow. She is a graduate of the Hamline University MFA and lives in Woodbury, Minnesota. Learn more at elizabethverdick.com.


 

Date: 
Saturday, 19 January 2019 - 11:00am
Books: 
Small Walt and Mo the Tow Cover Image
By Elizabeth Verdick, Marc Rosenthal (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481466608
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - October 30th, 2018

“Delightful, retro artwork and clever text offer another tribute to teamwork and friendship…Three dynamic duos: Gus and Walt; Sue and Mo; Verdick and Rosenthal.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Small Walt befriends a tow truck when he comes across a car in need of help in this irresistible companion to Small Walt, which Kirkus Reviews called “charming and endearing” in a starred review.

We’re Gus and Walt
We plow and we salt
We clear the snow so the
Cars can go!

A bitter blizzard. A snowbound town. When a car skids off the road, Small Walt and Gus might not have what it takes to save the day on their own. But who does? Mo the Tow to the rescue!

When we need a tow,
We call on Mo…
We can depend
On our new friend!


Text filled with onomatopoeia and Walt’s affirming chants make this story about friendship and accepting help from others a real winner.


Small Walt Cover Image
By Elizabeth Verdick, Marc Rosenthal (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481448451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - October 31st, 2017

A tiny snowplow determined to prove his worth battles a blizzard in this supremely charming story in the tradition of Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel and The Little Engine that Could.

My name is Walt,
I plow and I salt.
They say I’m small,
but I’ll show them all.


Small Walt and his driver, Gus, take on a blizzard! All the bigger snowplows doubt that Walt has what it takes to plow the roads in the storm, but Walt is determined to prove them wrong.

Brimming with onomatopoeia and Walt’s affirming chants, this sweet picture book shows that when it comes to strength, size doesn’t matter. Bestselling illustrator Marc Rosenthal’s wintry scenes make this book the perfect cozy read-aloud.


Event Address: 
2720 West 43rd Street
Minneapolis, MN 55410
United States